Lisbon Treaty — Disapproves of the government's policy towards the Lisbon Treaty with regards to the European Union's institutions — rejected — 26 Feb 2008 at 19:35

The majority No voters rejected an amendment[1] that would have shown the House's disapproval of "the Government's policy towards the Treaty of Lisbon in respect of the provisions on the effectiveness of European Union institutions and decision-making."

The amendment argued that the Lisbon Treaty expanded "the power of EU institutions at Member States' expense by replacing the rotating presidency of the European Council with a permanent President, giving the EU a single legal personality, abolishing national vetoes in more than fifty areas and entrenching marine biological resources as an exclusive EU competence."

However, Jim Murphy MP argued that the Treaty "will allow the existing EU institutions to function more effectively and with more accountability to the member states,"[2] and "provides new powers for national Parliaments; more effective decision making where it is in the UK's interests; and explicitly sets out the EU's competences—and where those competences end—for the first time."[3]

The main aims of the Lisbon Treaty were to[4]:


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con1 150 (+2 tell)079.3%
DUP0 4044.4%
Independent0 2040.0%
Independent Labour1 00100.0%
Lab296 (+2 tell) 6086.4%
LDem0 000.0%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP1 0033.3%
SNP0 5083.3%
Total:299 170074.5%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Kenneth ClarkeRushcliffeConno
Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabaye
Ian DavidsonGlasgow South WestLab (minister)aye
David DrewStroudLab (minister)aye
Kate HoeyVauxhallLab (minister)aye
Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLab (minister)aye
Austin MitchellGreat GrimsbyLab (minister)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive