Lisbon Treaty — Exclude the European Union from regulating the conservation of marine biological resources — rejected — 26 Feb 2008 at 23:00

The majority No voters rejected an amendment[1] to the European Union (Amendment) Bill. If passed the amendment would have excluded the European Union (EU) from regulating the conservation of marine biological resources.

The Treaty of Lisbon asserts that the European Union shall have "exclusive competence" in the areas of:[2]

  • customs union;
  • the establishing of the competition rules necessary for the functioning of the internal market;
  • monetary policy for the Member States whose currency is the euro;
  • the conservation of marine biological resources under the common fisheries policy;
  • common commercial policy.

This claim will become part of UK law by virtue of the passage of the European Union Amendment Bill[3] which will include it it into the list of treaties included in the European Communities Act 1972.

The European Union (Amendment) Bill implements the Lisbon Treaty into UK law. The main aims of the Lisbon Treaty were to[4]:


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con0 150 (+1 tell)078.2%
DUP0 6066.7%
Independent0 1020.0%
Lab285 (+2 tell) 11084.7%
LDem0 000.0%
PC0 2 (+1 tell)0100.0%
SNP0 5083.3%
Total:285 175073.5%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabaye
Ann CryerKeighleyLab (minister)aye
Ian DavidsonGlasgow South WestLab (minister)aye
David DrewStroudLab (minister)aye
Gwyneth DunwoodyCrewe and NantwichLab (minister)aye
Frank FieldBirkenheadLab (minister)aye
Kate HoeyVauxhallLab (minister)aye
Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLab (minister)aye
Austin MitchellGreat GrimsbyLab (minister)aye
Alan SimpsonNottingham SouthLabaye
David TaylorNorth West LeicestershireLab (minister)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive