Iraq Inquiry — Parliament to set the terms of reference — rejected — 24 Jun 2009 at 18:43

The majority of MPs voted to let the Government, rather than MPs in the House of Commons, set the terms of reference for the Iraq inquiry.

The majority of MPs voted against the motion, which read:[1]

  • This House
  • while welcoming the announcement by the Government of an Inquiry into the war in Iraq,
  • believes that the proceedings of the Committee of Inquiry should whenever possible be held in public and that the membership of the Committee should be wider and more diverse than the Government has proposed, and
  • calls on the Government to revise its proposals for the Inquiry to meet these and other objections raised by hon. Members and to submit proposed terms of reference for it to the House on a substantive motion for full debate and scrutiny.

In the next vote,[2] a government sponsored motion was adopted.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con0 173 (+2 tell)091.1%
DUP2 0022.2%
Independent1 4083.3%
Independent Labour0 10100.0%
Lab296 (+2 tell) 19090.8%
LDem0 53084.1%
PC0 30100.0%
Respect0 10100.0%
SDLP0 1033.3%
SNP0 5071.4%
Total:299 260088.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by constituency

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mike WoodBatley and SpenLabaye
Frank FieldBirkenheadLabaye
Lynne JonesBirmingham, Selly OakLabaye
Roger GodsiffBirmingham, Sparkbrook and Small HeathLabaye
Gavin StrangEdinburgh EastLabaye
Parmjit DhandaGloucesterLabaye
John Martin McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabaye
Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabaye
Peter SoulsbyLeicester SouthLabaye
Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLabaye
Robert Marshall-AndrewsMedwayLabaye
Paul FarrellyNewcastle-under-LymeLabaye
Paul FlynnNewport WestLabaye
Alan SimpsonNottingham SouthLabaye
Gordon PrenticePendleLabaye
Mark FisherStoke-on-Trent CentralLabaye
David DrewStroudLabaye
Andrew MacKinlayThurrockLabaye
Kate HoeyVauxhallLabaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive