Parliamentary Elections (Recall and Primaries) — New Clause 13 — Local Spending Reports — 13 Oct 2009 at 21:00

'(1) The Secretary of State must as soon as practicable but not less than 12 months after the passing of this Act produce and publish a Local Spending Report.

(2) The reports must cover-

(a) all government departments, and

(b) any other person exercising public functions.

(3) The reports must include-

(a) all public expenditure for each local authority area in so far as it is possible to define it, and

(b) both current and proposed future spending.

(4) Local spending reports shall be updated as frequently as is reasonably practicable but in any event at least once every two years.

(5) The first report under this section must be laid before Parliament no later than 12 months after this Act is passed.

(6) In this section the term "Local Spending Report" has the same meaning as in the Sustainable Communities Act 2007 (c. 23).'.- (Mr. Drew.)

Brought up.

Question put, That the clause be added to the Bill.

The House divided: Ayes 203, Noes 261.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con0 140 (+1 tell)073.1%
Independent1 2050.0%
Lab260 (+2 tell) 10077.9%
LDem0 48 (+1 tell)077.8%
PC0 1033.3%
SDLP0 2066.7%
SNP0 1014.3%
Total:261 204075.2%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Diane AbbottHackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabaye
Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabaye
David DrewStroudLab (minister)aye
Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLab (minister)aye
Lynne JonesBirmingham, Selly OakLab (minister)aye
John Martin McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabaye
Gordon PrenticePendleLab (minister)aye
Alan SimpsonNottingham SouthLabaye
David TaylorNorth West LeicestershireLab (minister)aye
Paul TruswellPudseyLabaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive