UK Armed Forces in Afghanistan (Backbench Business) — 9 Sep 2010 at 17:46

The majority of MPs voted in favour of the motion: "That this House supports the continued deployment of UK armed forces in Afghanistan."

This was the first time the House of Commons had voted on a motion devised by the Backbench Business Committee.

While matters relating to UK armed forces in Afghanistan have been regularly raised in the House of Commons Conservative MP Richard Drax said during the debate:[1]

  • It is a huge privilege to talk about this war, which in my view has not been debated in the House since it started in 2001.

Other MPs said there had not previously been a proper vote on the deployment of UK forces in Afghanistan[2][3] (pointing to the farcical adjournment division on the Coalition Against International Terrorism 2001[4][5]).

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con251 (+1 tell) 1082.7%
Green0 10100.0%
Lab30 10 (+1 tell)015.9%
LDem29 (+1 tell) 1 (+1 tell)056.1%
PC0 1033.3%
Total:310 14052.5%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

John BaronBasildon and BillericayCon (front bench)no
Katy ClarkNorth Ayrshire and ArranLab (minister)no
Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabno
John CryerLeyton and WansteadLab (minister)no
Paul FlynnNewport WestLab (minister)tellno
Kate HoeyVauxhallLab (minister)no
Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLab (minister)no
Mark LazarowiczEdinburgh North and LeithLab (minister)no
John Martin McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabno
Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLabno
Karl TurnerKingston upon Hull EastLab (minister)no
David WinnickWalsall NorthLab (minister)no
John HemmingBirmingham, YardleyLDem (front bench)tellno
Julian HuppertCambridgeLDem (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive