Sustainable Livestock Bill — Closure Motion — 12 Nov 2010 at 13:15

The majority of MPs voted for the debate on the Sustainable Livestock Bill to be curtailed and for a vote on the Bill's second reading to be held straight away but the vote was deemed void.

The purpose of the Sustainable Livestock Bill[1] is described in the explanatory notes to the Bill[2] which state:

  • The Bill creates duties on the Secretary of State to take steps to make the livestock industry more sustainable, and to make information on those steps and the progress being made openly available.
  • The driver for the Bill is the fact that much of the environmental impact of consumption of livestock produce in the United Kingdom takes place in other countries. For example, the growing of feed crops such as soy is leading to the conversion of rainforest and other wild areas to plantations. Such deforestation causes biodiversity loss and results in large emissions of climate change gases.

The division was declared invalid as fewer than 100 Members voted in support of the motion; the vast majority of MPs did not vote. There was a minimum number of MPs required for approval of the motion because the vote was a "closure motion" - a demand that the debate stop and a vote be taken right away. The closure motion had been moved by Labour MP Robert Flello[3]. (See Standing Orders Nos 36 & 37[4])

The debate resumed shortly after the failed motion.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con8 26 (+2 tell)011.8%
DUP1 0012.5%
Green1 00100.0%
Lab47 (+2 tell) 0019.1%
LDem4 3012.3%
SDLP1 0033.3%
Total:62 29015.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Peter BoneWellingboroughCon (front bench)aye
Jane EllisonBatterseaCon (front bench)aye
Mark FieldCities of London and WestminsterCon (front bench)aye
Zac GoldsmithRichmond ParkCon (front bench)aye
Oliver HealdNorth East HertfordshireCon (front bench)aye
Philip HolloboneKetteringCon (front bench)aye
Jo JohnsonOrpingtonCon (front bench)aye
Greg KnightEast YorkshireCon (front bench)aye
Paul BurstowSutton and CheamLDem (front bench)no
Nick HarveyNorth DevonLDem (front bench)no
David HeathSomerton and FromeLDem (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive