Pensions Bill [HL] — Report — 30 Mar 2011 at 17:08

The majority of Lords voted down Amendment 1 to the 2011 Pensions Bill, moved by Labour Lord McKenzie, that sought to limit changes to be made to women's pensionable age. These changes included increasing the women's pension age to 65 by 2018 in order to arrive at an equal age of 66 for both men and women in 2020. The Amendment text read:

Clause 1, page 1, line 6, leave out "December 1953"" and insert "April 1955""

Lord McKenzie argued that the existing 1995 Act's timetable would be unfair given women's later inclusion in pensions, their statistical tendency to retire earlier than men and by highlighting the positive impact the Amendment could also have on men. Lord Freud, the Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for the Department of Work and Pensions, countered by highlighting the £10 billion cost of removing faster equalisation of women's pensions age and the egalitarian nature of the proposal.

The result of the vote on making Amendment 1 to the 2011 Pensions Bill:

Contents (for) 214; Not-Contents (against) 226. Amendment 1 disagreed.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Bishop0 14.0%
Con142 (+1 tell) 063.8%
Crossbench15 4129.5%
DUP0 125.0%
Independent Labour0 1100.0%
Lab1 156 (+2 tell)63.9%
LDem63 (+1 tell) 066.0%
PC0 1100.0%
UUP1 150.0%
Total:222 20253.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Alton of LiverpoolCrossbenchno
Lord Armstrong of IlminsterCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Ballyedmond Crossbenchno
Lord Bew Crossbenchno
Lord Craig of RadleyCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Dear Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Fellowes Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Kilclooney Crossbenchno
Lord Luce Crossbenchno
Lord Marshall of KnightsbridgeCrossbenchno
Baroness Murphy Crossbenchno
Baroness O'Neill of BengarveCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Ramsbotham Crossbenchno
Lady Saltoun of AbernethyCrossbenchno
Lord St John of BletsoCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Stirrup Crossbenchno
Lord Archer of SandwellLabno
Viscount Falkland LDemaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive