Defamation Bill — Recognised Arbitration Services for Defamation Cases — Incentives — 16 Apr 2013 at 19:13

The majority of MPs voted not to introduce certified arbitration services for defamation cases and to provide incentives for using them.

MPs were considering the Defamation Bill[1]. The motion passed in this vote was:

  • That this House disagrees with Lords amendment 2

Lords amendment 2[2] sought to add a new clause to the Bill titled Arbitration Service for defamation and related civil claims against members of Independent Regulatory Board.

The clause would have set up a Defamation Recognition Commission with the role of certifying bodies as Independent Regulatory Boards to provide arbitration in defamation cases. Courts would have taken into account if an available arbitration mechanism had not been used. Courts would have been able to order a successful party to pay all the costs of proceedings if such party has unreasonably refused to use an available recognised arbitration service.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Alliance0 10100.0%
Con250 (+2 tell) 3083.6%
DUP7 0087.5%
Independent0 10100.0%
Lab0 217 (+2 tell)085.2%
LDem39 3277.2%
Respect0 10100.0%
SDLP0 2066.7%
Total:296 228283.7%

Rebel Voters - sorted by constituency

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

John HemmingBirmingham, YardleyLDemboth
Philip HolloboneKetteringConno
Greg MulhollandLeeds North WestLDemno
John LeechManchester, WithingtonLDemno
Adrian SandersTorbayLDemno
Sarah WollastonTotnesConno
Tim FarronWestmorland and LonsdaleLDemboth
Peter BottomleyWorthing WestConno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive