European Union (Approvals) Bill — Clause 1 — Influence of Europe for Citizens Programme on EU Referenda and Elections — 27 Jan 2014 at 16:45

The majority of MPs voted not to ensure the the "Europe for Citizens" programme does not influence any EU referendum or election.

The amendment rejected was:

  • amendment 3, page 1, line 16, leave out subsection (2) and insert—
  • ‘(2) Except as provided for under subsection (2A), the provisions of this Act come into force on the day on which it is passed.
  • (2A) Section 1 comes into force in relation to the draft decision to adopt the Council Regulation establishing for the period 2014-2020 the programme ‘Europe for Citizens’ (document number 12557/13) on whatever day the Secretary of State appoints by order made by statutory instrument.
  • (2B) The Secretary of State may only make an order under subsection (2A) if—
  • (a) he has laid a statement before both Houses of Parliament stating that no expenditure can take place under ‘Europe for Citizens’ that could influence any European Parliamentary election or referendum in the year prior to such an election or referendum, and
  • (b) a draft of the order has been laid before and approved by both Houses of Parliament.

The effect of the amendments would have been to add the requirements described in subsections (a) and (b) restricting the scope of the "Europe for Citizens" programme.

MPs were debating the European Union (Approvals) Bill[1]

The Bill approves the "Europe for Citizens" Programme and gives it a budget of €185 million for 2014-20 (down from €229 million originally proposed).[2] Activities to be funded under the programme come under two themes: "Remembrance and European Citizenship" and "Democratic engagement and civic participation".

During a previous debate on the Bill an estimation of the UK's contribution to the costs of the "Europe for Citizens" Programme as being £2 million to £3 million a year, was provided in a speech by Edward Vaizey MP (Wantage, Conservative)[3]


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con200 (+2 tell) 31 (+2 tell)077.0%
DUP0 1012.5%
Lab0 401.6%
LDem38 0067.9%
PC2 0066.7%
Total:240 36044.5%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Steven BakerWycombeConaye
Andrew BinghamHigh PeakCon (front bench)aye
Bob BlackmanHarrow EastCon (front bench)aye
Peter BoneWellingboroughCon (front bench)tellaye
Andrew BridgenNorth West LeicestershireCon (front bench)aye
Conor BurnsBournemouth WestConaye
Douglas CarswellClactonConaye
Philip DaviesShipleyCon (front bench)aye
Richard DraxSouth DorsetCon (front bench)aye
Zac GoldsmithRichmond ParkCon (front bench)aye
Chris Heaton-HarrisDaventryCon (front bench)aye
Gordon HendersonSittingbourne and SheppeyCon (front bench)aye
Philip HolloboneKetteringCon (front bench)tellaye
Gerald HowarthAldershotConaye
Stewart JacksonPeterboroughCon (front bench)aye
Bernard JenkinHarwich and North EssexCon (front bench)aye
Chris KellyDudley SouthCon (front bench)aye
Julian LewisNew Forest EastCon (front bench)aye
Anne MainSt AlbansCon (front bench)aye
Jason McCartneyColne ValleyCon (front bench)aye
Karl McCartneyLincolnCon (front bench)aye
David NuttallBury NorthCon (front bench)aye
John RedwoodWokinghamConaye
Jacob Rees-MoggNorth East SomersetCon (front bench)aye
Laurence RobertsonTewkesburyCon (front bench)aye
Richard ShepherdAldridge-BrownhillsCon (front bench)aye
Henry SmithCrawleyCon (front bench)aye
Bob StewartBeckenhamCon (front bench)aye
Peter TapsellLouth and HorncastleCon (front bench)aye
Andrew TurnerIsle of WightCon (front bench)aye
Charles WalkerBroxbourneCon (front bench)aye
John WhittingdaleMaldonCon (front bench)aye
Bill WigginNorth HerefordshireConaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive