Charter for Budget Responsibility: Autumn Statement 2014 Update — 13 Jan 2015 at 16:07

The majority of MPs voted in favour of aiming to achieve falling national debt by 2016-17 and for the 2017-18 national budget to be balanced when adjusted for a recessionary or expansionary economy.

The motion supported by the majority of MPs in this vote was:

As required by the Budget Responsibility and National Audit Act 2011, the Charter for Budget Responsibility sets out the government’s fiscal and debt management policy and how this will operate.

The Treasury's mandates for fiscal policy set our in the document are:

  • a forward-looking aim to achieve cyclically-adjusted current balance by the end of the third year of the rolling, 5-year forecast period. [The cyclically-adjusted balance is one adjusted for higher spending and reduced income during a recession.]
  • an aim for public sector net debt as a percentage of GDP to be falling in 2016-17
  • the cap on welfare spending, at a level set out by the Treasury in the most recently published Budget report , over the rolling 5-year forecast period, to ensure that expenditure on welfare is contained within a predetermined ceiling

During the debate the Chancellor[1] stated:

  • We then commit in the charter to achieving falling national debt by 2016-17 and a surplus on our cyclically adjusted current budget by 2017-18. That requires £30 billion of consolidation.


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Alliance0 10100.0%
Con262 (+1 tell) 0086.8%
DUP5 1075.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent1 0050.0%
Lab198 5078.7%
LDem47 (+1 tell) 0085.7%
PC0 2 (+1 tell)0100.0%
SDLP0 30100.0%
SNP0 5 (+1 tell)0100.0%
UKIP2 00100.0%
Total:515 18083.5%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Jim ShannonStrangfordDUP (front bench)no
Diane AbbottHackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabno
Katy ClarkNorth Ayrshire and ArranLab (minister)no
Roger GodsiffBirmingham, Hall GreenLabno
Austin MitchellGreat GrimsbyLab (minister)no
Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLabno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive