Serious Crime Bill — Clause 70 — Female Genital Mutilation Protection Orders — Threshold — 23 Feb 2015 at 21:00

The majority of MPs voted to allow a protection order be made to protect a girl "against the commission of a genital mutilation offence" rather than "against a risk of commission of a genital mutilation offence".

The wording "a risk of" would have provided for a lower threshold at which the courts would have been able to make such an order.

MPs were considering the Serious Crime Bill[2].

The amendment rejected by the majority of MPs in this vote was:

  • page 63, line 27, leave out "the" and insert "a risk of"

Clause 70(1) of the Bill[3] to which would have been affected by the amendment stated:

  • 70 (1) (1) The court in England and Wales may make an order (an “FGM protection order”) for the purposes of—
  • (a) protecting a girl against the commission of a genital mutilation offence, or
  • (b) protecting a girl against whom any such offence has been committed.

The impact of the proposed amendment was discussed during the debate[3].


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con244 (+1 tell) 10 (+2 tell)084.8%
DUP0 4050.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 1050.0%
Lab0 204079.1%
LDem38 (+1 tell) 2073.2%
PC0 2066.7%
SDLP0 2066.7%
SNP0 1016.7%
Total:282 227080.2%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Steven BakerWycombeCon (front bench)tellaye
Peter BoneWellingboroughCon (front bench)aye
Peter BottomleyWorthing WestCon (front bench)aye
Andrew BridgenNorth West LeicestershireCon (front bench)aye
Bill CashStoneCon (front bench)aye
Roger GaleNorth ThanetCon (front bench)aye
Zac GoldsmithRichmond ParkCon (front bench)tellaye
Philip HolloboneKetteringCon (front bench)aye
Bernard JenkinHarwich and North EssexCon (front bench)aye
Chris KellyDudley SouthCon (front bench)aye
Pauline LathamMid DerbyshireCon (front bench)aye
John RedwoodWokinghamConaye
Norman BakerLewesLDemaye
Tessa MuntWellsLDem (front bench)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive