European Union Referendum Bill — Schedule 1 — Publication of Campaign Material by Government and Public Bodies — 16 Jun 2015 at 18:00

The majority of MPs voted to allow central and local government to publish campaigning material in the run-up to the referendum on if the United Kingdom should remain a member of the European Union.

The provisions also apply to public bodies.

MPs were considering the European Union Referendum Bill[1].

The amendment rejected in this vote was:

  • Amendment 11, page 17, line 37, leave out paragraph 25 and insert—
  • “25 (1) Section 125 of the 2000 Act (restriction of publication etc of promotional material by central and local government etc) applies in relation to the referendum during the referendum period with the following modification.
  • (2) Section 125(2)(a) of the 2000 Act has effect for the purposes of the referendum as if, after ‘Crown’, there were inserted ‘including ministers in the Scottish Government, the Welsh Government, the Northern Ireland Executive and Her Majesty‘s Government of Gibraltar’.”

An explanatory note accompanying the amendment stated:

  • The purpose of the amendment is to apply the "purdah" arrangements that govern ministerial and official announcements, visits and publicity during general elections to the campaign period before the referendum.

Paragraph 25 of Schedule 1 which the amendment sought to replace[2] began:

  • Section 125 of the 2000 Act (restriction on publication etc of promotional material by central and local government etc) does not apply in relation to the referendum.

Section 125 of the Political Parties, Elections and Referendums Act 2000 which is referred to prevents any Minister of the Crown, government department or local authority; or any other person or body whose expenses are defrayed wholly or mainly out of public funds or by any local authority publishing material about a referendum in the period of 28 days before the poll.

The materials which the Act applies to are those which:

  • provide general information about a referendum
  • deal with any of the issues raised by any question on which such a referendum is being held;
  • put any arguments for or against any particular answer to any such question; or
  • are designed to encourage voting at such a referendum.

Exceptions include the publication of information relating to the holding of the poll and information published in response to a specific request for that information.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con286 (+2 tell) 25 (+2 tell)095.5%
DUP0 6075.0%
Independent1 00100.0%
Lab0 401.7%
LDem0 000.0%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 2066.7%
SNP0 560100.0%
UKIP0 10100.0%
UUP1 0050.0%
Total:288 97060.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Adam AfriyieWindsorCon (front bench)aye
Richard BaconSouth NorfolkConaye
Steven BakerWycombeContellaye
John BaronBasildon and BillericayConaye
Bill CashStoneCon (front bench)aye
Christopher ChopeChristchurchCon (front bench)tellaye
Philip DaviesShipleyCon (front bench)aye
Nadine DorriesMid BedfordshireCon (front bench)aye
Richard DraxSouth DorsetConaye
Liam FoxNorth SomersetConaye
Dame Cheryl GillanChesham and AmershamConaye
Zac GoldsmithRichmond ParkConaye
Philip HolloboneKetteringCon (front bench)aye
Gerald HowarthAldershotConaye
Stewart JacksonPeterboroughConaye
Bernard JenkinHarwich and North EssexCon (front bench)aye
David JonesClwyd WestConaye
Edward LeighGainsboroughCon (front bench)aye
Tim LoughtonEast Worthing and ShorehamConaye
Anne MainSt AlbansCon (front bench)aye
Stephen McPartlandStevenageConaye
David NuttallBury NorthConaye
Owen PatersonNorth ShropshireConaye
John RedwoodWokinghamConaye
Andrew RosindellRomfordCon (front bench)aye
Bob StewartBeckenhamConaye
Andrew TurnerIsle of WightCon (front bench)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive