Prum Convention — Data Sharing with Certain European Countries to Combat Crime and Terrorism — 8 Dec 2015 at 18:18

The majority of MPs taking part voted for greater cross-border cooperation with certain European countries, particularly the mutual exchange of information, including DNA profiles, fingerprint data, vehicle registration data, and other information to prevent criminal offences, maintain public order and security and prevent terrorism.

MPs were debating a motion relating to the Prüm Convention[1], also known as the Schengen III Agreement, a treaty between a group of European countries on the exchange of data including DNA, fingerprints and vehicle registrations and on cooperation against terrorism.

MPs were debating the following motion:

  • That this House, wishing to see serious crimes solved, to counter terrorism and to see foreign criminals prosecuted and deported,
  • supports opting in to the Prüm Decisions;
  • notes the views of senior law enforcement officers that the Prüm Decisions are an important aid to tackling crime;
  • notes the success of a pilot that demonstrated that the Prüm Decisions mechanism is both swift and effective; and
  • further notes that only a subset of the relevant national DNA and fingerprint databases, containing data relating to individuals convicted of recordable offences, will be made available for searching by other participating States, and that the higher UK scientific standards will be applied to matches in the UK.

The amendment rejected in this vote stated:

  • (a), leave out from ‘deported’ to end and add—
  • does not support opting in to the Prüm Decisions because of the need to protect the civil liberties of British citizens, because of the risks to UK sovereignty posed by accepting the jurisdiction of the European Court of Justice (ECJ) in this area and because it would mean missing the opportunity to require a better arrangement, noting that the Government’s policy is to renegotiate the jurisdiction of the ECJ and the result of the referendum in Denmark preserving that country's opt-out from such measures that will require Denmark to negotiate on an intergovernmental basis;
  • notes that necessary international cooperation against terrorism and serious crime does not, and did not prior to the Lisbon Treaty, require the UK to accept the supremacy of EU law, the jurisdiction of the ECJ or the application of the Charter of Fundamental Rights; and therefore
  • requires the Government to secure alternative arrangements outside the jurisdiction of the European Court of Justice.’.


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con265 (+2 tell) 22 (+2 tell)088.2%
DUP7 0087.5%
Independent2 0066.7%
Lab169 3074.1%
LDem3 0037.5%
PC3 00100.0%
SDLP2 0066.7%
SNP50 0092.6%
UKIP0 10100.0%
UUP2 00100.0%
Total:503 26082.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Steven BakerWycombeCon (front bench)tellaye
Graham BradyAltrincham and Sale WestCon (front bench)aye
Fiona BruceCongletonCon (front bench)aye
Bill CashStoneCon (front bench)aye
Christopher ChopeChristchurchCon (front bench)aye
Philip DaviesShipleyCon (front bench)aye
Richard DraxSouth DorsetCon (front bench)aye
James GrayNorth WiltshireCon (front bench)aye
Philip HolloboneKetteringCon (front bench)tellaye
Adam HollowayGraveshamCon (front bench)aye
Gerald HowarthAldershotCon (front bench)aye
Bernard JenkinHarwich and North EssexCon (front bench)aye
Julian LewisNew Forest EastCon (front bench)aye
Peter LilleyHitchin and HarpendenCon (front bench)aye
Anne MainSt AlbansCon (front bench)aye
Jason McCartneyColne ValleyConaye
Karl McCartneyLincolnCon (front bench)aye
David NuttallBury NorthCon (front bench)aye
Owen PatersonNorth ShropshireConaye
John RedwoodWokinghamConaye
Jacob Rees-MoggNorth East SomersetCon (front bench)aye
Andrew RosindellRomfordCon (front bench)aye
Anne-Marie TrevelyanBerwick-upon-TweedCon (front bench)aye
Andrew TurnerIsle of WightCon (front bench)aye
Kate HoeyVauxhallLab (minister)aye
Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLab (minister)aye
Graham StringerBlackley and BroughtonLab (minister)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive