Children and Social Work Bill — Clause 12 — Child Safeguarding Practice Review Panel — Independent Domestic Abuse Expert — 7 Mar 2017 at 14:58

The majority of MPs voted not to require an independent expert on domestic abuse on the Child Safeguarding Practice Review Panel

MPs were considering the Children and Social Work Bill[1].

The proposed amendment clause rejected in this vote was:

  • Amendment proposed: 12, page 10, line 30, at end insert—

“(3A) At least one member of the panel appointed by the Secretary of State under subsection (3) must—

(a) be independent from Government, and

(b) have relevant specialist expertise in tackling domestic abuse.”

The rejected amendment was accompanied by the following explanatory note:

  • This amendment would require that at least one member of the Child Safeguarding Practice Review Panel has specialist expertise in tackling domestic abuse.

Clause 12[3] of the Bill provided for the establishment of a panel to be known as the Child Safeguarding Practice Review Panel. Clause 13 set out the functions of the panel, including:

  • (a) to identify serious child safeguarding cases in England which raise issues that are complex or of national importance,
  • and
  • (b) where they consider it appropriate, to arrange for those cases to be reviewed under their supervision.


Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con295 (+2 tell) 0090.0%
DUP4 3087.5%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 2066.7%
Lab0 201 (+2 tell)088.3%
LDem0 90100.0%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 30100.0%
SNP0 47087.0%
UUP0 20100.0%
Total:299 271089.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Jeffrey M. DonaldsonLagan ValleyDUP (front bench)aye
Ian Paisley JnrNorth AntrimDUP (front bench)aye
Jim ShannonStrangfordDUP (front bench)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive