Temporary Standing Order — European Statutory Instruments Committee — Membership — At Least Seven Women and At Least Seven Men — 16 Jul 2018 at 23:04

The majority of MPs voted for the sixteen members of the European Statutory Instruments Committee to include at least seven women and at least seven men.

MPs were considering a motion beginning:

  • That the following Standing Order shall have effect for the remainder of this Parliament:—
  • (1) There shall be a select committee, called the European Statutory Instruments Committee, to examine and report on—
  • (i) any of the following documents laid before the House of Commons in accordance with paragraph 3(3)(b) or 17(3)(b) of Schedule 7 to the European Union (Withdrawal) Act 2018
  • (a) a draft of an instrument; and
  • (b) a memorandum setting out both a statement made by a Minister of the Crown to the effect that in the Minister’s opinion the instrument should be subject to annulment in pursuance of a resolution of either House of Parliament (the negative procedure) and the reasons for that opinion, and
  • (ii) any matter arising from its consideration of such documents.


  • (6) The committee shall consist of sixteen Members.

The motion supported by the majority of MPs in this vote was:

  • Amendment proposed: (a), in paragraph (6), at end add
  • ‘of whom at least seven shall be women and at least seven shall be men.’.

Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con13 (+1 tell) 50 (+2 tell)221.5%
DUP1 2030.0%
Green1 00100.0%
Independent1 0016.7%
Lab29 0011.2%
LDem2 0016.7%
SNP8 (+1 tell) 0025.7%
Total:55 52217.7%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Alistair BurtNorth East Bedfordshirewhilst Con (front bench)aye
Alun CairnsVale of GlamorganCon (front bench)aye
Geoffrey CoxTorridge and West DevonCon (front bench)aye
Mims DaviesEastleighCon (front bench)aye
Vicky FordChelmsfordCon (front bench)aye
Mark GarnierWyre ForestConaye
David GaukeSouth West Hertfordshirewhilst Con (front bench)aye
Richard HarringtonWatfordwhilst Con (front bench)aye
Gillian KeeganChichesterCon (front bench)aye
Andrea LeadsomSouth NorthamptonshireCon (front bench)aye
Brandon LewisGreat YarmouthCon (front bench)aye
Paul MastertonEast RenfrewshireCon (front bench)aye
Maria MillerBasingstokeCon (front bench)tellaye
Alok SharmaReading WestCon (front bench)aye
Matthew OffordHendonCon (front bench)both
Heather WheelerSouth DerbyshireCon (front bench)both
Jim ShannonStrangfordDUP (front bench)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive