EU-Singapore Free Trade Agreement and Investment Protection Agreement — 12 Sep 2018 at 17:39

The majority of MPs voted to express support for the European Union - Singapore Free Trade Agreement.

The motion supported by the majority of MPs in this vote was:

  • That this House
  • takes note of European Union Document No. 7966/18 on the signature of the proposed agreement along with Addenda numbered 1 to 13 and European Union Document No. 7967/18 on the conclusion of the proposed agreement along with Addenda numbered 1 to 13;
  • welcomes the proposed signature and conclusion, on behalf of the EU, of the EU-Singapore Free Trade Agreement;
  • further notes European Union Document No. 7973/18 on the signature of the proposed agreement along with Addenda numbered 1 to 2 and European Union Document No. 7974/18 on the conclusion of the proposed agreement along with Addenda numbered 1 to 2; and
  • further notes the signature and conclusion of the proposed Investment Protection Agreement between the EU and its Member States and Singapore.

Unlike other votes, such as that on Relations Between the European Union, its Member States and Cuba this vote is not on legislation which makes the Free Trade Agreement a European Union Treaty; so this vote is not given as much weight as others on the subject of EU trade agreements.

Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con292 0092.4%
DUP9 0090.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent2 1042.9%
Lab21 143063.8%
LDem7 0058.3%
Total:331 145078.9%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Rushanara AliBethnal Green and BowLab (minister)aye
Adrian BaileyWest Bromwich WestLab (minister)aye
Luciana BergerLiverpool, Wavertreewhilst Lab (front bench)aye
Ben BradshawExeterLab (minister)aye
Chris BryantRhonddaLab (minister)aye
Mary CreaghWakefieldLab (minister)aye
Mike GapesIlford Southwhilst Lab (front bench)aye
Roger GodsiffBirmingham, Hall GreenLabaye
Liz KendallLeicester WestLab (minister)aye
Stephen KinnockAberavonLab (minister)aye
Peter KyleHoveLab (minister)aye
Chris LeslieNottingham Eastwhilst Lab (front bench)aye
Catherine McKinnellNewcastle upon Tyne NorthLab (minister)aye
Anna McMorrinCardiff NorthLab (minister)aye
Ian MurrayEdinburgh SouthLab (minister)aye
Gavin ShukerLuton Southwhilst Lab (front bench)aye
Angela SmithPenistone and Stocksbridgewhilst Lab (front bench)aye
Stephen TimmsEast HamLab (minister)aye
Chuka UmunnaStreathamwhilst Labaye
Paul WilliamsStockton SouthLab (minister)aye
Phil WilsonSedgefieldLab (minister)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive