Corporate Insolvency and Governance Bill — Report (and remaining stages) — Amendment 45 — 23 Jun 2020 at 18:15

Moved by Lord Hodgson of Astley Abbotts

45: After Clause 17, insert the following new Clause-“Review of pre-pack transactionsIn Schedule B1 to the Insolvency Act 1986, after paragraph 74 insert-“Review of pre-pack transactions(1) The assets of a company may not be transferred under the terms of a pre-pack transaction unless the proposed purchaser has obtained an opinion in writing from a member of the pre-pack pool that the transaction is not unreasonable.(2) In this paragraph, a “pre-pack transaction” means a transaction which is negotiated before a company enters administration, and under which all or a substantial part of the company’s assets are sold to an associate on or shortly after the appointment of an administrator.(3) For the purposes of sub-paragraph (2), “associate” has the meaning given in section 435 of the Insolvency Act 1986.””Member’s explanatory statementThis new Clause requires a positive opinion to be obtained from a member of the pre-pack pool before a company enters into a pre-pack transaction. The pre-pack pool is an independent body of experienced business people set up in response to the recommendations of Teresa Graham’s report.

Ayes 155, Noes 326.

Debate in Parliament |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Con191 780.2%
Crossbench17 4636.8%
DUP0 375.0%
Green0 150.0%
Independent Labour0 150.0%
Judge1 114.3%
Lab104 1063.3%
LDem0 7885.7%
Non-affiliated10 832.7%
PC1 0100.0%
UUP2 0100.0%
Total:326 15562.5%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Baroness Altmann Conaye
Lord Bowness Conaye
Lord Forsyth of DrumleanCon (front bench)aye
Lord Freud Conaye
Baroness Hodgson of AbingerCon (front bench)aye
Lord Hodgson of Astley AbbottsCon (front bench)aye
Lord Marlesford Conaye
Lord Cameron of DillingtonCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Carrington Crossbenchno
Baroness Cavendish of Little VeniceCrossbenchno
Lord Crisp Crossbenchno
Lord Dannatt Crossbenchno
Baroness Deech Crossbenchno
Lord Grabiner Crossbenchno
Lord Greenway Crossbenchno
Baroness Hogg Crossbenchno
Lord Kakkar Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Laming Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Low of DalstonCrossbench (front bench)no
Baroness Morgan of DrefelinCrossbenchno
Lord Pannick Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Patel Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Powell of BayswaterCrossbench (front bench)no
Viscount Waverley Crossbenchno
Lord Adonis Labaye
Baroness Andrews Lab (minister)aye
Viscount Chandos Lab (minister)aye
Lord Faulkner of WorcesterLab (minister)aye
Lord Haskel Lab (minister)aye
Lord Hunt of Kings HeathLab (minister)aye
Lord Liddle Lab (minister)aye
Lord MacKenzie of CulkeinLabaye
Lord Mendelsohn Lab (minister)aye
Lord Triesman Labaye
Lord Cooper of WindrushNon-affiliatedaye
Baroness Falkner of MargravineNon-affiliatedaye
Baroness Kennedy of CradleyNon-affiliatedaye
Lord Smith of FinsburyNon-affiliatedaye
Lord Stone of BlackheathNon-affiliatedaye
Baroness Tonge Non-affiliatedaye
The Duke of WellingtonNon-affiliatedaye
Baroness Wheatcroft Non-affiliatedaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive