Trade Bill — Report (Day 2) — Amendment 15 — 15 Dec 2020 at 17:30

Moved by Baroness Kramer

15: After Clause 2, insert the following new Clause-“Investor-state dispute settlement(1) The United Kingdom may only become a signatory to an international trade agreement if the conditions in subsections (3), (4) and (5) are satisfied.(2) The Secretary of State may not lay a copy of an international trade agreement before Parliament under section 20(1) of the Constitutional Reform and Governance Act 2010 unless the conditions in subsections (3), (4) and (5) are satisfied.(3) The condition under this subsection is that an international trade agreement must include a commitment by all parties to the agreement to pursue with other trading partners the establishment of a multilateral investment tribunal and appellate mechanism for the resolution of investment disputes.(4) The condition under this subsection is that legal proceedings brought against the United Kingdom under investment protection provisions included in an international trade agreement must be heard by the courts and tribunals system of the United Kingdom.(5) The condition under this subsection is that the provision in subsection (4) ends for any international trade agreement when a multilateral investment tribunal and appellate mechanism for the resolution of investment disputes is established under that trade agreement.”Member’s explanatory statementThis new Clause would ensure that there is a commitment by all parties to a trade agreement to pursue the establishment of a multilateral investment process to adjudicate on investor disputes.

Ayes 265, Noes 269.

Debate in Parliament |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Con215 181.8%
Crossbench31 3035.3%
DUP5 0100.0%
Green2 0100.0%
Independent Labour0 1100.0%
Judge1 08.3%
Lab0 13675.1%
LDem0 8293.2%
Non-affiliated13 1445.8%
PC0 1100.0%
UUP2 0100.0%
Total:269 26567.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

The Earl of CaithnessConaye
Lord Alton of LiverpoolCrossbench (front bench)aye
Lord Berkeley of KnightonCrossbenchaye
Baroness Boycott Crossbenchaye
Lord Broers Crossbenchaye
Baroness Butler-Sloss Crossbench (front bench)aye
The Earl of ClancartyCrossbench (front bench)aye
Baroness Cox Crossbenchaye
Lord Cromwell Crossbench (front bench)aye
Baroness D'Souza Crossbench (front bench)aye
Lord Eames Crossbench (front bench)aye
Baroness Falkner of MargravineCrossbenchaye
Lord Field of BirkenheadCrossbenchaye
Baroness Finlay of LlandaffCrossbench (front bench)aye
Lord Freyberg Crossbenchaye
Lord Hannay of ChiswickCrossbench (front bench)aye
Lord Harries of PentregarthCrossbenchaye
Baroness Hollins Crossbenchaye
Lord Kerslake Crossbench (front bench)aye
Baroness Masham of IltonCrossbenchaye
Baroness Meacher Crossbench (front bench)aye
Baroness Murphy Crossbenchaye
Baroness O'Neill of BengarveCrossbench (front bench)aye
Baroness Prashar Crossbench (front bench)aye
Lord Ramsbotham Crossbenchaye
The Earl of SandwichCrossbench (front bench)aye
Lord Singh of WimbledonCrossbench (front bench)aye
The Duke of SomersetCrossbenchaye
Baroness Stern Crossbenchaye
Lord Walker of AldringhamCrossbenchaye
Baroness Worthington Crossbenchaye
Lord Austin of DudleyNon-affiliatedno
Lord Bhatia Non-affiliatedno
Lord Faulks Non-affiliated (front bench)no
Lord Gadhia Non-affiliatedno
Baroness Hoey Non-affiliatedno
Lord Inglewood Non-affiliated (front bench)no
Lord Kalms Non-affiliatedno
Lord Lupton Non-affiliatedno
Lord Mann Non-affiliatedno
Baroness Stowell of BeestonNon-affiliated (front bench)no
Baroness Stuart of EdgbastonNon-affiliatedno
Lord Taylor of WarwickNon-affiliatedno
Lord Walney Non-affiliatedno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive