David Marshall MP, Glasgow Shettleston

voted strongly for the policy

Nuclear power - For

by scoring 97.6% compared to the votes below

Why Majority/minority instead of Aye/No?
HouseDateSubjectDavid MarshallPolicy vote
Commons5 Mar 2002Nuclear Power — Planning decisions should be taken in Scotland and Wales — rejected absentMajority
Commons5 Mar 2002Nuclear Power — Confidence in planning process in Scotland and Wales absentMajority
Commons22 Oct 2002Nuclear Power — Not competitive — rejected MajorityMajority
Commons22 Oct 2002Nuclear Power — Will be addressed on its own merits MajorityMajority
HouseDateSubjectDavid MarshallPolicy vote
Commons17 Jan 2006Nuclear Power — Opposition to construction of new generation — rejected MajorityMajority (strong)
Commons17 Jan 2006Nuclear Power — Welcomes the role of civil nuclear power MajorityMajority

How the number is calculated

The MP's votes count towards a weighted average where the most important votes get 50 points, less important votes get 10 points, and less important votes for which the MP was absent get 2 points. In important votes the MP gets awarded the full 50 points for voting the same as the policy, no points for voting against the policy, and 25 points for not voting. In less important votes, the MP gets 10 points for voting with the policy, no points for voting against, and 1 (out of 2) if absent.

Questions about this formula can be discussed on the forum.

No of votesPointsOut of
Most important votes (50 points)   
MP voted with policy15050
MP voted against policy000
MP absent000
Less important votes (10 points)   
MP voted with policy33030
MP voted against policy000
Less important absentees (2 points)   
MP absent*224

*Pressure of other work means MPs or Lords are not always available to vote – it does not always indicate they have abstained. Therefore, being absent on a less important vote makes a disproportionatly small difference.

agreement score
MP's points
total points
 = 97.6 %.

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive