Wild Mammals (Hunting with Dogs) Bill — 28 Nov 1997

Aye voters supported the second reading of the Private Members Bill to ban hunting with dogs, as proposed by Mike Foster MP (Worcester)..

The House divided: Ayes 411, Noes 151.

Historical Hansard | Online Hansard |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con8 126 (+2 tell)084.0%
Independent0 10100.0%
Independent Conservative0 10100.0%
Lab372 (+2 tell) 2090.2%
LDem27 14089.1%
PC0 2050.0%
SNP4 0066.7%
UUP0 5050.0%
Total:411 151087.5%

Rebel Voters - sorted by constituency

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Alan BeithBerwick-upon-TweedLDem (front bench)no
Mr David AtkinsonBournemouth EastConaye
Mr Richard LivseyBrecon and RadnorshireLDem (front bench)no
Mr Stephen DayCheadleConaye
Malcolm BruceGordonLDem (front bench)no
Paul KeetchHerefordLDemno
Ann WiddecombeMaidstone and The WealdConaye
Lembit ÖpikMontgomeryshireLDemno
Mrs Llin GoldingNewcastle-under-LymeLab (minister)no
Mr Paul TylerNorth CornwallLDem (front bench)no
Nick HarveyNorth DevonLDemno
Menzies CampbellNorth East FifeLDem (front bench)no
Roger GaleNorth ThanetCon (front bench)aye
Jim WallaceOrkney and ShetlandLDemno
Mr Teddy TaylorRochford and Southend EastConaye
Mr Archy KirkwoodRoxburgh and BerwickshireLDem (front bench)no
Mr John TaylorSolihullConaye
David AmessSouthend WestConaye
Mr John BurnettTorridge and West DevonLDemno
Michael MooreTweeddale, Ettrick and LauderdaleLDem (front bench)no
John RandallUxbridgeConaye
Kate HoeyVauxhallLabno
Robert SmithWest Aberdeenshire and KincardineLDemno
Mark OatenWinchesterLDemno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive