Prayers — 18 May 1999 at 15:28

Are we all agreed?


In that case, there will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)AbstentionsTurnout
Con16 0088.9%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent2 0066.7%
Lab20 211498.2%
LDem10 60100.0%
SNP21 9193.9%
Total:69 371595.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by constituency

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Lewis MacdonaldAberdeen CentralLabaye
Nicol StephenAberdeen SouthLDemno
Karen WhitefieldAirdrie and ShottsLabaye
George LyonArgyll and ButeLDemno
Henry McLeishCentral FifeLababstention
Linda FabianiCentral ScotlandSNPno
Karen GillonClydesdaleLabaye
Cathie CraigieCumbernauld and KilsythLababstention
Jackie BaillieDumbartonLabaye
John McAllionDundee EastLabaye
Kate MacleanDundee WestLababstention
Helen EadieDunfermline EastLabaye
John Home RobertsonEast LothianLababstention
Sarah BoyackEdinburgh CentralLababstention
Susan DeaconEdinburgh East and MusselburghLababstention
Malcolm ChisholmEdinburgh North and LeithLababstention
Iain GrayEdinburgh PentlandsLabaye
Robert BrownGlasgowLDemno
Kenneth GibsonGlasgowSNPno
Donald DewarGlasgow AnnieslandLababstention
Mike WatsonGlasgow CathcartLababstention
Gordon JacksonGlasgow GovanLabaye
Pauline McNeillGlasgow KelvinLabaye
Patricia FergusonGlasgow MaryhillLabaye
Janis HughesGlasgow RutherglenLababstention
Paul MartinGlasgow SpringburnLabaye
Tom McCabeHamilton SouthLababstention
Rhoda GrantHighlands and IslandsLabaye
Maureen MacmillanHighlands and IslandsLabaye
Peter PeacockHighlands and IslandsLabaye
Mary MulliganLinlithgowLabaye
Bristow MuldoonLivingstonLabaye
Kenny MacAskillLothiansSNPno
Bruce CrawfordMid Scotland and FifeSNPno
Rhona BrankinMidlothianLababstention
Rt Hon Jack McConnellMotherwell and WishawLababstention
Iain SmithNorth East FifeLDemno
Richard LochheadNorth East ScotlandSNPno
Shona RobisonNorth East ScotlandSNPabstention
Richard SimpsonOchilLabaye
Wendy AlexanderPaisley NorthLabaye
Tavish ScottShetland IslandsLDemno
Christine GrahameSouth of ScotlandSNPno
Sylvia JacksonStirlingLabaye
Sam GalbraithStrathkelvin and BearsdenLababstention
Ross FinnieWest of ScotlandLDemno
Fiona McLeodWest of ScotlandSNPno
Lloyd QuinanWest of ScotlandSNPno
Kay UllrichWest of ScotlandSNPno
Alasdair MorrisonWestern IslesLabaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive