Line of Route — 26 May 1999

I beg to move,

That this House approves the First Report from the Administration Committee on the Proposal to Re-open the Line of Route during the Summer Adjournment (HC 394).

I beg to move, To leave out from "House" to the end of the Question, and to add instead thereof:

"declines to approve the First Report from the Administration Committee (HC394) on the proposal to re-open the Line of Route during the Summer Adjournment until the full implications for entry into the Houses of Parliament at other times of the year, and other options for making these arrangements, are examined and costed."

Question put, That the amendment be made:--

The House divided: Ayes 119, Noes 36.

Historical Hansard | Online Hansard |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con36 14 (+1 tell)031.5%
Lab51 21 (+1 tell)117.8%
LDem31 (+2 tell) 0071.7%
UUP0 1010.0%
Total:118 36125.1%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Peter AtkinsonHexhamConno
Tim BoswellDaventryCon (front bench)no
Sir Sydney ChapmanChipping BarnetConno
Patrick CormackSouth StaffordshireCon (front bench)no
Mr James CranBeverley and HoldernessConno
Oliver HealdNorth East HertfordshireCon (front bench)no
Robert KeySalisburyConno
Eleanor LaingEpping ForestCon (front bench)no
Jacqui LaitBeckenhamConno
Sir Peter LloydFarehamConno
Mrs Marion RoeBroxbourneContellno
David RuffleyBury St EdmundsCon (front bench)no
Richard SpringWest SuffolkConno
John WhittingdaleMaldon and East ChelmsfordCon (front bench)no
George YoungNorth West HampshireCon (front bench)no
Margaret BeckettDerby SouthLab (minister)no
Clive BettsSheffield, AttercliffeLab (minister)no
Mr Ivor CaplinHoveLabno
Ben ChapmanWirral SouthLabno
David CrausbyBolton North EastLab (minister)no
Jim DowdLewisham WestLab (minister)no
Mike GapesIlford SouthLabno
Keith HillStreathamLab (minister)no
Glenda JacksonHampstead and HighgateLab (minister)no
Mr David JamiesonPlymouth, DevonportLab (minister)no
Miss Melanie JohnsonWelwyn HatfieldLabno
Ms Jenny JonesWolverhampton South WestLabno
Mrs Helen LiddellAirdrie and ShottsLab (minister)no
Mr Peter MandelsonHartlepoolLabno
Mr John MaxtonGlasgow CathcartLabno
Mr Tony McWalterHemel HempsteadLabno
Nick PalmerBroxtoweLabtellno
Steve PoundEaling NorthLab (minister)no
Bridget PrenticeLewisham EastLabno
Nick RaynsfordGreenwich and WoolwichLab (minister)no
Paddy TippingSherwoodLab (minister)no
Rosie WintertonDoncaster CentralLabno
Denis MacShaneRotherhamLabboth

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive