Medical Treatment (Prevention of Euthanasia) Bill — Second Reading — 28 Jan 2000

The majority of MPs voted to make it illegal to withdraw or withhold medical treatment or sustenance with the intent of hastening or otherwise causing death.

MPs were considering the Medical Treatment (Prevention of Euthanasia) Bill[1].

Thee motion approved by the majority of MPs in this vote was:

  • I beg to move, That the Bill be now read a Second time.

The operative clause of the Bill, clause 1, stated:

  • It shall be unlawful for any person responsible for the care of a patient to withdraw or withhold from the patient medical treatment or sustenance if his purpose or one of his purposes in doing so is to hasten or otherwise cause the death of the patient.

In April 2000 BBC reported[2]:

  • The Bill ran out of time for debate. It now goes back into the long queue of backbench Bills for debate and stands very little chance of becoming law.


Historical Hansard | Online Hansard |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con55 0 (+1 tell)034.8%
DUP1 0050.0%
Independent2 00100.0%
Lab41 (+1 tell) 0 (+1 tell)010.3%
LDem6 1117.4%
PC1 0033.3%
SDLP1 0033.3%
UKUP1 00100.0%
UUP4 (+1 tell) 0050.0%
Total:112 1118.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Crispin BluntReigateContellno
Mr Joe AshtonBassetlawLabtellno
Mr Archy KirkwoodRoxburgh and BerwickshireLDemno
Evan HarrisOxford West and AbingdonLDemboth

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive