Organ Transplants (Presumed Consent) — 11 Apr 2000

I beg to move,

That leave be given to bring in a Bill to establish a national register of people who have not given their consent to transplant of their organs after death; to lay down procedures to be followed before an organ transplant takes place; and for connected purposes.

Question put, pursuant to Standing Order No. 23 (Motions for leave to bring in Bills and nomination of Select Committees at commencement of public business): --

The House divided: Ayes 113, Noes 23.

Historical Hansard | Online Hansard |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con7 9 (+2 tell)011.3%
Independent0 1033.3%
Lab86 (+2 tell) 5022.4%
LDem18 8056.5%
PC2 0050.0%
Total:113 23022.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Peter BottomleyWorthing WestCon (front bench)aye
Kenneth ClarkeRushcliffeConaye
Eric ForthBromley and ChislehurstConaye
Andrew MacKayBracknellConaye
Nicholas SoamesMid SussexConaye
Desmond SwayneNew Forest WestCon (front bench)aye
David TredinnickBosworthCon (front bench)aye
Mr Andrew BennettDenton and ReddishLabno
David CrausbyBolton North EastLab (minister)no
Edward O'HaraKnowsley SouthLabno
James PlaskittWarwick and LeamingtonLabno
Mr Paul StinchcombeWellingboroughLabno
Alan BeithBerwick-upon-TweedLDem (front bench)no
Mr John BurnettTorridge and West DevonLDemno
Menzies CampbellNorth East FifeLDem (front bench)no
David HeathSomerton and FromeLDem (front bench)no
Mr Richard LivseyBrecon and RadnorshireLDem (front bench)no
Lembit ÖpikMontgomeryshireLDemno
Adrian SandersTorbayLDem (front bench)no
Robert SmithWest Aberdeenshire and KincardineLDem (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive