Transport Bill — Transfer to be to company owned by Crown — 9 May 2000

As amended in the Standing Committee, considered.

(a) has been formed and registered under the Companies Act 1985 or the Companies (Northern Ireland) Order 1986; and

(b) is wholly owned by the Crown.

(2) For the purposes of this Part a company shall only be regarded as wholly owned by the Crown if each of the issued shares of the company is held by--

(a) the Treasury,

(b) the Secretary of State, or

(c) the nominee of a person falling within paragraph (a) or (b).

(3) A company to which any property, rights or liabilities have been transferred under a transfer scheme shall not issue any shares or share rights unless such shares or share rights are issued to the Treasury, the Secretary of State or a nominee of either of them.

(4) Subject to subsection (5), neither the Treasury, the Secretary of State nor a nominee of either of them shall dispose of any shares or share rights in a company to which any property, rights or liabilities have been transferred under a transfer scheme.

(5) Subsection (4) does not apply to any disposal by the Treasury, the Secretary of State or a nominee or either of them to any other such person.'.-- [Mrs. Dunwoody.]

Brought up, and read the First time.

I beg to move, That the clause be read a Second time.

Mr. Deputy Speaker (Sir Alan Haselhurst):

With this it will be convenient to discuss the following: New clause 36-- Transfer to be to not for profit company --

If the government had decided to adopt this trust model, I doubt there would have been any opposition from the CAA or NATS.

Staff shares can only be sold to other staff or a staff trust.

in spite of the protestations of the airlines that "safety [is] our most important priority . . . [we] do not seek competitive advantage as far as safety is concerned", concern remains that in the event of conflict between safety considerations and profit margins, airlines may favour their profit margins.

some things . . . are too important to leave to bodies whose first motive is profit and whose first fiduciary duty is to their shareholders.

Our air is not for sale.

the worst of all the possible options.

our air is not for sale

the Council believes they will preserve the successful civil/military relationship that currently exists between NATS and the MOD and ensure that air traffic services are sustained on a joint and integrated basis . . .

Question put, That the clause be read a Second time:--

The House divided: Ayes 99, Noes 307.

Historical Hansard | Online Hansard |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con0 201.3%
Independent0 30100.0%
Lab306 (+2 tell) 43 (+2 tell)085.1%
LDem0 42089.4%
PC0 2050.0%
SNP0 3050.0%
UUP0 3033.3%
Total:306 98063.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Mr Harry BarnesNorth East DerbyshireLabaye
Mr Tony BennChesterfieldLabaye
Mr Andrew BennettDenton and ReddishLabaye
David ChaytorBury NorthLabaye
Michael ClaphamBarnsley West and PenistoneLabaye
Ann ClwydCynon ValleyLab (minister)aye
Michael ConnartyFalkirk EastLab (minister)aye
Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabaye
Ann CryerKeighleyLabaye
John CryerHornchurchLabaye
Mr Tam DalyellLinlithgowLabaye
Ian DavidsonGlasgow PollokLab (minister)aye
Janet DeanBurtonLabaye
Andrew DismoreHendonLabaye
Jim DobbinHeywood and MiddletonLabaye
Brian H DonohoeCunninghame SouthLab (minister)aye
Gwyneth DunwoodyCrewe and NantwichLabaye
Frank FieldBirkenheadLabaye
Paul FlynnNewport WestLabaye
Mrs Maria FyfeGlasgow MaryhillLabaye
Dr Norman GodmanGreenock and InverclydeLabaye
Mrs Llin GoldingNewcastle-under-LymeLabaye
Mrs Eileen GordonRomfordLabaye
Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLabaye
Lynne JonesBirmingham, Selly OakLabaye
Alan KeenFeltham and HestonLabaye
David LepperBrighton, PavilionLabaye
Mr Terry LewisWorsleyLabaye
Mrs Alice MahonHalifaxLabaye
Dr John MarekWrexhamLabaye
John Martin McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabaye
Mr Bill MichieSheffield, HeeleyLabtellaye
Gordon PrenticePendleLabaye
Gwyn ProsserDoverLabaye
Martin SalterReading WestLabaye
Alan SimpsonNottingham SouthLabaye
Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLab (minister)aye
Mr Llew SmithBlaenau GwentLabaye
Gavin StrangEdinburgh East and MusselburghLabaye
David TaylorNorth West LeicestershireLabaye
Desmond TurnerBrighton, KemptownLabaye
Robert WareingLiverpool, West DerbyLabaye
Betty WilliamsConwyLabaye
David WinnickWalsall NorthLab (minister)aye
Mike WoodBatley and SpenLabtellaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive