Hunting Bill — 20 Dec 2000

Aye voters supported the second reading of the Hunting Bill, as proposed by the Government. The Bill was an "options Bill", containing three different options, to allow hunting to continue under self-supervision or under licence or to ban it. MPs would vote between these options at a later date.

Historical Hansard | Online Hansard |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con8 137 (+2 tell)091.9%
Independent0 1050.0%
Lab343 (+2 tell) 3083.7%
LDem22 12072.3%
PC0 3075.0%
UUP0 2022.2%
Total:373 158083.9%

Rebel Voters - sorted by name

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Sir David AmessSouthend WestConaye
Mr David AtkinsonBournemouth EastConaye
Alan BeithBerwick-upon-TweedLDemno
Malcolm BruceGordonLDemno
Mr John BurnettTorridge and West DevonLDemno
Menzies CampbellNorth East FifeLDemno
Mr Stephen DayCheadleConaye
Roger GaleNorth ThanetConaye
Mrs Llin GoldingNewcastle-under-LymeLabno
Nick HarveyNorth DevonLDemno
Kate HoeyVauxhallLabno
Paul KeetchHerefordLDemno
Mr Archy KirkwoodRoxburgh and BerwickshireLDemno
Mr Richard LivseyBrecon and RadnorshireLDemno
Michael MooreTweeddale, Ettrick and LauderdaleLDemno
Mark OatenWinchesterLDemno
Lembit ÖpikMontgomeryshireLDemno
Richard OttawayCroydon SouthConaye
John RandallUxbridgeConaye
Robert SmithWest Aberdeenshire and KincardineLDemno
Mr Teddy TaylorRochford and Southend EastConaye
Mr Peter Temple-MorrisLeominsterwhilst Labno
Ann WiddecombeMaidstone and The WealdConaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive