Hunting Bill — 26 Mar 2001 at 19:30

House again in Committee on Clause 1, Amendment No. 1.

On Question, Whether the said amendment (No. 1) shall be agreed to?

Their Lordships divided: Contents, 317; Not-Contents, 68.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Content)Minority (Not-Content)Turnout
Bishop4 016.0%
Con159 (+1 tell) 372.8%
Crossbench72 346.9%
Green1 0100.0%
Independent Labour1 0100.0%
Lab42 (+1 tell) 50 (+1 tell)48.0%
LDem33 8 (+1 tell)67.7%
UUP1 0100.0%
Total:313 6456.9%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Baroness Fookes Con (front bench)no
Lord Lloyd-Webber Con (front bench)no
Lord Wolfson Conno
Baroness Boothroyd Crossbenchno
Baroness Richardson of CalowCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Roll of IpsdenCrossbenchno
Lord Acton Labaye
Lord Barnett Lab (minister)aye
Lord Bernstein of CraigweilLabaye
Lord Bragg Labaye
Lord Brennan Lab (minister)aye
Lord Brookman Labaye
Lord Davies of CoityLabaye
Lord Desai Labaye
Lord Evans of Temple GuitingLabaye
Lord Filkin Labaye
Lord Gordon of StrathblaneLabaye
Lord Grabiner Labaye
Lord Grenfell Lab (minister)aye
Lord Hardy of WathLabaye
Baroness Hayman Lab (minister)aye
Lord Howie of TroonLab (minister)aye
Lord Hunt of Kings HeathLab (minister)aye
Baroness Jeger Labaye
Lord Layard Labaye
Lord Lipsey Labaye
Lord Mackenzie of FramwellgateLabaye
Baroness Mallalieu Lab (minister)tellaye
Lord Mason of BarnsleyLabaye
Baroness McIntosh of HudnallLab (minister)aye
Lord Milner of LeedsLabaye
Lord Molloy Labaye
Lord Morris of Castle MorrisLabaye
Lord Ponsonby of ShulbredeLabaye
Lord Prys-Davies Lab (minister)aye
Lord Puttnam Labaye
Lord Randall of St BudeauxLabaye
Lord Rea Lab (minister)aye
Lord Renwick of CliftonLabaye
Lord Richard Labaye
Lord Shore of StepneyLabaye
Viscount Simon Lab (minister)aye
Lord Strabolgi Labaye
Lord Taylor of BlackburnLabaye
Baroness Turner of CamdenLabaye
Baroness Wilkins Lab (minister)aye
Lord Williams of ElvelLab (minister)aye
Lord Winston Lab (minister)aye
Lord Woolmer of LeedsLabaye
Lord Avebury LDemno
Baroness Barker LDemno
Lord Dholakia LDem (front bench)no
Baroness Hamwee LDem (front bench)no
Baroness Harris of RichmondLDem (front bench)no
Lord McNally LDemtellno
Baroness Northover LDem (front bench)no
Lord Shutt of GreetlandLDem (front bench)no
Lord Tope LDemno
Lord Laird UUPno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive