Education Bill — No requirements of attendance at a place of religious worship — rejected — 6 Feb 2002 at 21:30

The majority No voters rejected a new clause[1] to the Education Bill. This would have required religious state schools to accept a minimum of 25% of non-religious applicants. It also states that pupils admitted to state schools, and their parents and guardians, do not have to attend a place of worship or belong to a particular faith. However, the amendment was defeated.

The main aims of the Education Bill were to[2]:

  • Allow schools to exempt themselves from laws which prevented them from innovating. However, this is dependent on the Secretary of State's approval.
  • Give good schools the option of qualifying for greater flexibility in the National Curriculum and teachers' pay.
  • Allow schools to join together in a federation under a single governing body.
  • Further regulate school admissions, exclusions and attendance policies.
  • Give the Secretary of State further powers to intervene in failing schools.
  • Introduce a new regulatory regime for independent schools.


Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con135 0082.3%
DUP3 0060.0%
Independent0 10100.0%
Lab265 (+2 tell) 45 (+1 tell)076.5%
LDem2 36 (+1 tell)073.6%
PC0 40100.0%
UUP0 1016.7%
Total:405 87077.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by constituency

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Eric IllsleyBarnsley CentralLabaye
Michael ClaphamBarnsley West and PenistoneLabaye
Lynne JonesBirmingham, Selly OakLabaye
Mr John McWilliamBlaydonLabaye
Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLab (minister)aye
Mrs Valerie DaveyBristol WestLabaye
Janet DeanBurtonLabaye
David ChaytorBury NorthLabaye
Chris McCaffertyCalder ValleyLabaye
Tony WrightCannock ChaseLabaye
Mr Jon Owen JonesCardiff CentralLabtellaye
Mr Gerry SteinbergCity of DurhamLabaye
Gwyneth DunwoodyCrewe and NantwichLabaye
Ann ClwydCynon ValleyLab (minister)aye
Mr Andrew BennettDenton and ReddishLabaye
Gwyn ProsserDoverLabaye
Mr Clive SoleyEaling, Acton and Shepherd's BushLabaye
Clive EffordElthamLabaye
John AustinErith and ThamesmeadLabaye
Martin CatonGowerLab (minister)aye
Mr Brian SedgemoreHackney South and ShoreditchLabaye
Mrs Alice MahonHalifaxLabaye
Glenda JacksonHampstead and HighgateLabaye
John Martin McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLab (minister)aye
Frank DobsonHolborn and St PancrasLabaye
Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabaye
Mr Chris SmithIslington South and FinsburyLabaye
Ann CryerKeighleyLabaye
Roger BerryKingswoodLabaye
Mr Harold BestLeeds North WestLabaye
Harry CohenLeyton and WansteadLabaye
Mr Tam DalyellLinlithgowLabaye
Robert WareingLiverpool, West DerbyLabaye
Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLabaye
Colin ChallenMorley and RothwellLabaye
Paul FlynnNewport WestLabaye
Ian GibsonNorwich NorthLabaye
Alan SimpsonNottingham SouthLabaye
Mr Martin O'NeillOchilLab (minister)aye
Gordon PrenticePendleLabaye
Ms Jane GriffithsReading EastLabaye
Chris MullinSunderland SouthLabaye
Mr John BurnettTorridge and West DevonLDemno
David ClellandTyne BridgeLabaye
Mr David HinchliffeWakefieldLabaye
Neil GerrardWalthamstowLabaye
Mr Brian CotterWeston-Super-MareLDem (front bench)no
Mr Terry LewisWorsleyLabaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive