City of London (Ward Elections) Bill — New Clause 1 — Exclusion of Crown Property — 15 Apr 2002 at 19:02

Question accordingly negatived.

Motion made, and Question put, That the clause be read a Second time:-

The House divided: Ayes 341, Noes 44.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con123 (+2 tell) 0076.2%
DUP4 0080.0%
Lab188 36 (+2 tell)155.4%
LDem22 7054.7%
UUP1 0016.7%
Total:338 43160.5%

Rebel Voters - sorted by constituency

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Eric IllsleyBarnsley CentralLabno
Don FosterBathLDemno
Lynne JonesBirmingham, Selly OakLabno
Mr Llew SmithBlaenau GwentLabno
Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLab (minister)no
Brian IddonBolton South EastLabno
Kevin BrennanCardiff WestLab (minister)both
Eric MartlewCarlisleLabno
Mr Gerry SteinbergCity of DurhamLabno
Bob RussellColchesterLDem (front bench)no
Ann ClwydCynon ValleyLab (minister)no
Colin BurgonElmetLabno
Alan KeenFeltham and HestonLabno
Rudi VisFinchley and Golders GreenLabno
George GallowayGlasgow Kelvinwhilst Labno
Ian DavidsonGlasgow PollokLab (minister)no
Anthony D WrightGreat YarmouthLabno
Diane AbbottHackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabno
Mrs Alice MahonHalifaxLabno
John Martin McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLab (minister)no
Andrew StunellHazel GroveLDem (front bench)no
Jon TrickettHemsworthLab (minister)no
Andrew DismoreHendonLabtellno
John CryerHornchurchLab (minister)no
Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabno
Mr Phil SawfordKetteringLabno
Mr Harold BestLeeds North WestLabno
Robert WareingLiverpool, West DerbyLabno
Mr Denzil DaviesLlanelliLabno
Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLabno
David HamiltonMidlothianLab (minister)no
Paul FlynnNewport WestLabno
Mr Harry BarnesNorth East DerbyshireLabno
David TaylorNorth West LeicestershireLabno
Mr Tony ClarkeNorthampton SouthLabno
Gordon PrenticePendleLabno
Mike HancockPortsmouth SouthLDem (front bench)no
Martin SalterReading WestLabno
Mr Richard AllanSheffield, HallamLDem (front bench)no
Mr Paul MarsdenShrewsbury and Atchamwhilst LDemno
Andrew MacKinlayThurrockLabtellno
Vincent CableTwickenhamLDem (front bench)no
Mr David HinchliffeWakefieldLabno
Neil GerrardWalthamstowLabno
Rob MarrisWolverhampton South WestLab (minister)no
Mr Terry LewisWorsleyLabno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive