Deferred Divisions — Business of the House — 24 Jul 2002 at 22:04

That, at the sitting on Monday 22nd July, the Motion for the Adjournment of the House in the name of the Prime Minister relating to matters to be considered before the forthcoming Adjournment may be proceeded with, though opposed, for three hours, and the Motion shall then lapse.

The House divided: Ayes 13, Noes 289.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con4 002.4%
DUP0 3060.0%
Independent0 10100.0%
Lab242 8061.0%
LDem33 1064.2%
PC1 0025.0%
SNP4 0080.0%
UUP5 0083.3%
Total:289 13046.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by vote

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Professor Ross CranstonDudley NorthLabaye
Ms Julia DrownSouth SwindonLabaye
Mr Alan HowarthNewport EastLab (minister)aye
John HuttonBarrow and FurnessLab (minister)aye
Piara S KhabraEaling, SouthallLabaye
Tony LloydManchester CentralLabaye
Paul MurphyTorfaenLab (minister)aye
Lembit ÖpikMontgomeryshireLDemaye
David WinnickWalsall NorthLab (minister)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive