Iraq — UN Security Council Resolution 1441 — Second resolution necessary — rejected — 25 Nov 2002 at 21:34

The majority of MPs voted against adding the conditions:[1]

  • This House
  • believes that any decision that Iraq is in material breach of Resolution 1441 is for the UN Security Council as a whole to determine and that no military action to enforce Resolution 1441 should be taken against Iraq without a mandate from the UN Security Council; and
  • further believes that no British forces should be committed to any such military action against Iraq without a debate in this House and a substantive motion in favour.

to the end of the motion for debate, which read:[2]

  • This House -
  • supports United Nations Security Council Resolution 1441 as unanimously adopted by the UN Security Council;
  • agrees that the Government of Iraq must comply fully with all provisions of the Resolution; and
  • agrees that, if it fails to do so, the Security Council should meet in order to consider the situation and the need for full compliance.

As it turned out, the second extra condition requiring a further debate in the House was satisfied,[3] while the first concerning a Security Council mandate was not.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con134 0082.2%
DUP1 0020.0%
Independent0 10100.0%
Independent Conservative1 00100.0%
Lab313 (+2 tell) 30184.4%
LDem0 43 (+2 tell)084.9%
PC0 40100.0%
SNP0 50100.0%
UUP2 0033.3%
Total:451 83183.2%

Rebel Voters - sorted by vote

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Diane AbbottHackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabaye
Mr Harold BestLeeds North WestLabaye
Harry CohenLeyton and WansteadLabaye
Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabaye
Jim CousinsNewcastle upon Tyne CentralLabaye
Mr Tam DalyellLinlithgowLabaye
David DrewStroudLabaye
Mark FisherStoke-on-Trent CentralLabaye
Paul FlynnNewport WestLabaye
Neil GerrardWalthamstowLabaye
Ian GibsonNorwich NorthLabaye
Patrick HallBedfordLabaye
Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLabaye
Glenda JacksonHampstead and HighgateLabaye
Lynne JonesBirmingham, Selly OakLabaye
Peter KilfoyleLiverpool, WaltonLabaye
David LepperBrighton, PavilionLabaye
Mr Terry LewisWorsleyLabaye
Mrs Alice MahonHalifaxLabaye
Robert Marshall-AndrewsMedwayLabaye
Chris McCaffertyCalder ValleyLabaye
John Martin McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabaye
Mohammad SarwarGlasgow GovanLabaye
Mr Brian SedgemoreHackney South and ShoreditchLabaye
Alan SimpsonNottingham SouthLabaye
Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLabaye
Mr Llew SmithBlaenau GwentLabaye
Desmond TurnerBrighton, KemptownLabaye
Robert WareingLiverpool, West DerbyLabaye
Mike WoodBatley and SpenLabaye
Marsha SinghBradford WestLabboth

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive