Smoking (Restaurants) Bill — 14 Apr 2003 at 17:28

Those voting Aye in the division allowed the introduction of a bill to ban smoking in restaurants.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con6 25 (+1 tell)019.6%
DUP1 0020.0%
Independent1 00100.0%
Independent Conservative0 0 (+1 tell)0100.0%
Lab91 (+2 tell) 8024.6%
LDem11 8035.8%
PC2 0050.0%
UUP3 2083.3%
Total:115 43025.2%

Rebel Voters - sorted by constituency

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Ronnie CampbellBlyth ValleyLabno
Bob SpinkCastle PointConaye
Mr Kevin HughesDoncaster NorthLabno
Steve PoundEaling NorthLab (minister)no
John CummingsEasingtonLabno
Mr Roy BeggsEast AntrimUUPno
Peter ViggersGosportConaye
John CryerHornchurchLabno
Alan MealeMansfieldLabno
David HamiltonMidlothianLab (minister)no
Lembit ÖpikMontgomeryshireLDemno
Nick HarveyNorth DevonLDem (front bench)no
Norman LambNorth NorfolkLDem (front bench)no
Dr Brian MawhinneyNorth West CambridgeshireConaye
Alistair CarmichaelOrkney and ShetlandLDem (front bench)no
David BurnsideSouth Antrimwhilst UUPno
Bill EtheringtonSunderland NorthLabno
John StanleyTonbridge and MallingCon (front bench)aye
Adrian SandersTorbayLDemno
Anthony SteenTotnesConaye
Mr Brian CotterWeston-Super-MareLDem (front bench)no
Mark OatenWinchesterLDemno
Peter BottomleyWorthing WestCon (front bench)aye
David LawsYeovilLDem (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive