Hunting Bill — New Clause 14 — Registration in Respect of Hunting of Mink — 30 Jun 2003 at 22:07

The Aye-voters successfully passed an amendment to add new clause 14:

Registration under Part 2 shall not be effected in respect of the hunting of mink.

This amendment was the "sister amendment" to one banning the hunting of foxes. This amendment absolutely banned the hunting of mink with dogs.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con5 (+1 tell) 132 (+1 tell)085.3%
DUP0 1020.0%
Independent Conservative0 10100.0%
Independent Ulster Unionist0 1033.3%
Lab309 5076.8%
LDem26 (+1 tell) 16 (+1 tell)083.0%
PC0 40100.0%
UUP1 0033.3%
Total:341 160078.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by constituency

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

John MannBassetlawLab (minister)no
Alan BeithBerwick-upon-TweedLDem (front bench)no
Mr John McWilliamBlaydonLabno
Roger WilliamsBrecon and RadnorshireLDem (front bench)no
John ThursoCaithness, Sutherland and Easter RossLDem (front bench)no
Tom BrakeCarshalton and WallingtonLDem (front bench)tellno
Hugo SwireEast DevonCon (front bench)tellaye
Malcolm BruceGordonLDem (front bench)no
Robin CookLivingstonLabno
Mr Matthew GreenLudlowLDemno
Ann WiddecombeMaidstone and The WealdConaye
Lembit ÖpikMontgomeryshireLDemno
Paul FarrellyNewcastle-under-LymeLab (minister)no
Nick HarveyNorth DevonLDemno
Menzies CampbellNorth East FifeLDem (front bench)no
Norman LambNorth NorfolkLDem (front bench)no
Roger GaleNorth ThanetCon (front bench)aye
Mr Teddy TaylorRochford and Southend EastConaye
Mr Archy KirkwoodRoxburgh and BerwickshireLDem (front bench)no
Mr John TaylorSolihullConaye
David HeathSomerton and FromeLDem (front bench)no
Colin BreedSouth East CornwallLDemno
David AmessSouthend WestCon (front bench)aye
Mr John BurnettTorridge and West DevonLDemno
Michael MooreTweeddale, Ettrick and LauderdaleLDem (front bench)no
Kate HoeyVauxhallLabno
Robert SmithWest Aberdeenshire and KincardineLDem (front bench)no
Mark OatenWinchesterLDemno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

TWe're working on updating the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive