Mental Capacity Bill — New Clause 1 — Excluded decisions — 14 Dec 2004 at 15:15

I beg to move, That the clause be read a Second time.

Question put, That the clause be read a Second time:-

The House divided: Ayes 203, Noes 297.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con1 118 (+2 tell)074.2%
DUP0 3042.9%
Independent0 20100.0%
Lab290 (+2 tell) 34080.1%
LDem6 40083.6%
PC0 3075.0%
SDLP0 1033.3%
UUP0 2040.0%
Total:297 203078.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by constituency

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Frank FieldBirkenheadLabaye
Ronnie CampbellBlyth ValleyLabaye
David CrausbyBolton North EastLabaye
Brian IddonBolton South EastLabaye
Joe BentonBootleLabaye
Marsha SinghBradford WestLabaye
Patsy CaltonCheadleLDemno
Paul HolmesChesterfieldLDemno
Lindsay HoyleChorleyLabaye
Jimmy HoodClydesdaleLabaye
Tom ClarkeCoatbridge and ChrystonLabaye
Jim CunninghamCoventry SouthLabaye
Claire Curtis-ThomasCrosbyLabaye
John CummingsEasingtonLabaye
John BarrettEdinburgh WestLDemno
Mr Jimmy WrayGlasgow BailliestonLabaye
Mr Bill TynanHamilton SouthLabaye
Jim DobbinHeywood and MiddletonLabaye
Edward O'HaraKnowsley SouthLabaye
Mr Hilton DawsonLancaster and WyreLabaye
George MudieLeeds EastLabaye
John BattleLeeds WestLabaye
Peter KilfoyleLiverpool, WaltonLabaye
Robert WareingLiverpool, West DerbyLabaye
Mr Denzil DaviesLlanelliLabaye
Lembit ÖpikMontgomeryshireLDemno
Geraldine SmithMorecambe and LunesdaleLabaye
Frank RoyMotherwell and WishawLabaye
Mr Calum MacDonaldNa h-Eileanan an IarLabaye
David TaylorNorth West LeicestershireLabaye
Mr Tony ColmanPutneyLabaye
Crispin BluntReigateConno
Dr Jenny TongeRichmond ParkLDemno
Mr Andy KingRugby and KenilworthLabaye
Mr Kerry PollardSt AlbansLabaye
Mark FisherStoke-on-Trent CentralLabaye
Mr John LyonsStrathkelvin and BearsdenLabaye
Andrew MacKinlayThurrockLabaye
Mr Tom CoxTootingLabaye
Kate HoeyVauxhallLabaye
Mark OatenWinchesterLDemno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive