Serious Organized Crime and Police Bill -- Demonstrating without authorisation in a designated area — 7 Feb 2005 at 22:00

Those voting Aye replaced a clause in the Serious Organized Crime and Police Bill, which was ostensibly designed to evict the long term peace protester, Brian Haw, from Parliament Square.

The new clause (number 18 in this debate, number 129 in the in the version that was delivered to the House of Lords) could be abbreviated as:

Any person who organises, takes part, carries on a demonstration -- even by himself -- in a public place in the Designated Area, if it is not part of a trade union dispute, is guilty of a criminal offence (unless permission has been requested from the police at least 6 days in advance and they have given authorisation).

The dimensions of the Designated Area were limited by 1 kilometre of Parliament Square, but its precise dimensions, which had they been known could have better informed the debate, were not revealed to the public until four months later in Statutory Instrument 2005 No. 1537.

This vote, Division 74, made it generally illegal to hold public demonstrations in the area. The next vote, Division 75, specified the terms under which one could be granted permission.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con26 25031.7%
DUP6 0085.7%
Independent0 1033.3%
Lab267 (+2 tell) 22071.3%
LDem0 31 (+2 tell)060.0%
PC0 2050.0%
SNP0 4080.0%
UUP0 1020.0%
Total:299 86060.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by constituency

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Gerald HowarthAldershotCon (front bench)no
Richard ShepherdAldridge-BrownhillsCon (front bench)no
Mike WoodBatley and SpenLabno
John BaronBillericayCon (front bench)no
Clare ShortBirmingham, LadywoodLabno
Ronnie CampbellBlyth ValleyLab (minister)no
Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLab (minister)no
Ian Liddell-GraingerBridgwaterCon (front bench)no
Bob SpinkCastle PointCon (front bench)no
Christopher ChopeChristchurchConno
John CummingsEasingtonLab (minister)no
Nigel WatersonEastbourneCon (front bench)no
Peter ViggersGosportCon (front bench)no
Mr Brian SedgemoreHackney South and ShoreditchLabno
Mrs Alice MahonHalifaxLabno
Glenda JacksonHampstead and HighgateLabno
John Martin McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabno
Jon TrickettHemsworthLab (minister)no
Francis MaudeHorshamConno
Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabno
Mr Hilton DawsonLancaster and WyreLab (minister)no
Louise EllmanLiverpool, RiversideLab (minister)no
Robert WareingLiverpool, West DerbyLabno
Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLab (minister)no
John WhittingdaleMaldon and East ChelmsfordCon (front bench)no
Paul BeresfordMole ValleyCon (front bench)no
Desmond SwayneNew Forest WestCon (front bench)no
Paul FlynnNewport WestLab (minister)no
Alistair BurtNorth East BedfordshireCon (front bench)no
Alan SimpsonNottingham SouthLab (minister)no
Robert SymsPooleCon (front bench)no
John GroganSelbyLabno
Mr John TaylorSolihullCon (front bench)no
Andrew LansleySouth CambridgeshireCon (front bench)no
Andrew SelousSouth West BedfordshireCon (front bench)no
Gary StreeterSouth West DevonConno
David WilshireSpelthorneCon (front bench)no
Mark FisherStoke-on-Trent CentralLab (minister)no
Bill EtheringtonSunderland NorthLabno
Alan WilliamsSwansea WestLab (minister)no
Laurence RobertsonTewkesburyCon (front bench)no
Anthony SteenTotnesCon (front bench)no
Mr Archie NormanTunbridge WellsCon (front bench)no
Kate HoeyVauxhallLab (minister)no
David Heathcoat-AmoryWellsCon (front bench)no
Patrick McLoughlinWest DerbyshireCon (front bench)no
Andrew MurrisonWestburyCon (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

TWe're working on updating the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive