Prevention of Terrorism Bill — Amendments — Burden of Proof — 10 Mar 2005 at 33:13

The Aye-voters:

disagreed with Lords Amendment 33D and insists on its Amendments 33C and 33G in lieu, does not insist on its Amendment 33F and proposes Amendments (a) and (b) in lieu.

I can't face it. Is this to do with the burden of proof argument that is reported to be the main sticking point as well as the sunset clause?

For information, the original burden of proof required by the original Anti-terrorism, Crime and Security Act 2001, the section of which passed with a vote on 21 November 2001 had as its burden of proof:

The Secretary of State may issue a certificate [authorizing detention of foreign nationals in a maximum security prison without charge or trial] if the Secretary of State reasonably (a) believes that the person's presence in the United Kingdom is a risk to national security, and (b) suspects that the person is a terrorist.

It took a legal judgement on one of the cases by the Law Lords to make this an issue worth fighting overnight for.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con0 145 (+1 tell)090.7%
Lab307 (+2 tell) 19080.4%
LDem0 51 (+1 tell)094.5%
SNP0 1020.0%
Total:307 216083.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by constituency

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Frank FieldBirkenheadLabno
Clare ShortBirmingham, LadywoodLabno
Lynne JonesBirmingham, Selly OakLabno
Diane AbbottHackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabno
Mr Brian SedgemoreHackney South and ShoreditchLabno
Glenda JacksonHampstead and HighgateLabno
John Martin McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabno
Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabno
Mr Kevin McNamaraKingston upon Hull NorthLabno
Mr Tam DalyellLinlithgowLabno
Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLabno
Robert Marshall-AndrewsMedwayLabno
Jim CousinsNewcastle upon Tyne CentralLabno
Mr Harry BarnesNorth East DerbyshireLabno
Alan SimpsonNottingham SouthLabno
Barbara FollettStevenageLabno
Mark FisherStoke-on-Trent CentralLabno
David DrewStroudLabno
Kate HoeyVauxhallLabno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive