Terrorism Bill — Extension Of Period Of Detention to 28 Days — but not 60 — 9 Nov 2005 at 16:39

The majority of MPs voted to change the revision of the period of detention without charge for terrorist suspects from 14 days to "three months", to "28 days" instead.[1]

The previous vote[2] was against restating "three months" as "90 days", which would have ended the winner-takes-all voting procedure.

Had this current vote been lost, the next voted would been about changing the plan to "60 days".

Some people called this a Dutch auction. However, it's worse than that because the time periods were not presented in an appropriate order, and those who wanted a shorter time limit were compelled to vote for the 28 days after rejecting the 90 day limit for fear that the 60 day limit would have stuck.

(A case where the provisions were presented in the correct order and voted on like a real auction can be seen on 20 May 2008 in relation to the Termination of pregnancy.)

The original powers of the police to detain terrorist suspects -- without stating the charges against the person -- for longer than other criminal acts (still limited to 48 hours) was established by the Terrorism Act 2000 and set to 7 days.[3]

This was later doubled to 14 days by the Criminal Justice Act 2003[4] following a debate without a vote.[5]

The current extention to 28 days requires annual renewal,[6] which was granted following a debate without a vote,[7] and is scheduled to be renewed a second time in July 2008.[8]

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con188 2096.9%
DUP9 00100.0%
Independent2 00100.0%
Lab49 (+2 tell) 287 (+2 tell)096.0%
LDem62 00100.0%
PC3 00100.0%
Respect1 00100.0%
SDLP3 00100.0%
SNP6 00100.0%
UUP0 10100.0%
Total:323 290096.9%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Michael MatesEast HampshireConno
John StanleyTonbridge and MallingConno
Diane AbbottHackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabaye
John AustinErith and ThamesmeadLabaye
Richard BurdenBirmingham, NorthfieldLabaye
Martin CatonGowerLabaye
Michael ClaphamBarnsley West and PenistoneLabaye
Katy ClarkNorth Ayrshire and ArranLabaye
Harry CohenLeyton and WansteadLabaye
Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabaye
Jim CousinsNewcastle upon Tyne CentralLabaye
Ann CryerKeighleyLabaye
Frank DobsonHolborn and St PancrasLabaye
Frank DoranAberdeen NorthLabaye
Gwyneth DunwoodyCrewe and NantwichLabaye
Mark FisherStoke-on-Trent CentralLabaye
Paul FlynnNewport WestLabaye
Neil GerrardWalthamstowLabtellaye
Ian GibsonNorwich NorthLabaye
Roger GodsiffBirmingham, Sparkbrook and Small HeathLabaye
John GroganSelbyLabaye
David HamiltonMidlothianLabaye
Doug HendersonNewcastle upon Tyne NorthLabaye
Kate HoeyVauxhallLabaye
Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLabtellaye
Glenda JacksonHampstead and HighgateLabaye
Siân JamesSwansea EastLabaye
Lynne JonesBirmingham, Selly OakLabaye
Sadiq KhanTootingLabaye
Tony LloydManchester CentralLabaye
Andrew LoveEdmontonLabaye
Robert Marshall-AndrewsMedwayLabaye
Chris McCaffertyCalder ValleyLabaye
John Martin McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabaye
Michael MeacherOldham West and RoytonLabaye
Julie MorganCardiff NorthLabaye
George MudieLeeds EastLabaye
Chris MullinSunderland SouthLabaye
Gordon PrenticePendleLabaye
Nick RaynsfordGreenwich and WoolwichLabaye
Linda RiordanHalifaxLabaye
Joan RuddockLewisham, DeptfordLabaye
Clare ShortBirmingham, Ladywoodwhilst Labaye
Alan SimpsonNottingham SouthLabaye
Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLabaye
Peter SoulsbyLeicester SouthLabaye
David TaylorNorth West LeicestershireLabaye
Emily ThornberryIslington South and FinsburyLabaye
Jon TrickettHemsworthLabaye
Rudi VisFinchley and Golders GreenLabaye
Robert WareingLiverpool, West Derbywhilst Labaye
David WinnickWalsall NorthLabaye
Mike WoodBatley and SpenLabaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive