Racial and Religious Hatred Bill — 31 Jan 2006 at 19:45

Those voting No agreed that the "Lords amendment No. 2" to the Racial and Religious Hatred Bill should stand. This was against the wishes of the Government who had their own amendments prepared.

What is "Lords amendment No. 2"?

"Lords amendment No. 2" was conveniently also called amendment no. 2 when it was debated and passed in the Lords on 2005-10-25. There was a vote on the Lords' first amendment, after which this one passed without a vote.

"Lords amendment No. 2" deleted section 1(b) from the original text of the Racial and Religious Hatred Bill. Section 1 said:

1. Hatred against persons on racial or religious grounds Part 3 of the Public Order Act 1986 is amended... [to] (a) create offences involving stirring up hatred against persons on religious grounds, and (b) amend provisions relating to offences involving stirring up hatred against persons on racial grounds.

The Public Order Act 1986 is not online on the Office of Public Sector Information website, because it comes before 1988. There is no reason for this restriction of information.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con183 (+1 tell) 0093.9%
DUP9 00100.0%
Independent1 0050.0%
Lab26 277 (+2 tell)086.4%
LDem59 (+1 tell) 0096.8%
PC3 00100.0%
Respect0 10100.0%
SDLP1 0033.3%
SNP5 0083.3%
UUP1 00100.0%
Total:288 278089.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Joe BentonBootleLab (minister)no
Roger BerryKingswoodLab (minister)no
Ronnie CampbellBlyth ValleyLab (minister)no
Colin ChallenMorley and RothwellLab (minister)no
Frank CookStockton NorthLab (minister)no
Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabno
Gwyneth DunwoodyCrewe and NantwichLab (minister)no
Bill EtheringtonSunderland NorthLabno
Frank FieldBirkenheadLab (minister)no
Mark FisherStoke-on-Trent CentralLabno
Paul FlynnNewport WestLab (minister)no
Ian GibsonNorwich NorthLab (minister)no
John GroganSelbyLab (minister)no
Kate HoeyVauxhallLabno
Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLab (minister)no
Peter KilfoyleLiverpool, WaltonLabno
Andrew MacKinlayThurrockLab (minister)no
Robert Marshall-AndrewsMedwayLabno
John Martin McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabno
Alan MealeMansfieldLab (minister)no
Gordon PrenticePendleLab (minister)no
Geraldine SmithMorecambe and LunesdaleLabno
David TaylorNorth West LeicestershireLab (minister)no
Rudi VisFinchley and Golders GreenLabno
Robert WareingLiverpool, West Derbywhilst Labno
Tony WrightCannock ChaseLab (minister)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive