Education and Inspections Bill — Faith schools must accept pupils from outside the faith — rejected — 30 Oct 2006 at 22:24

The majority Not Contents defeated an amendment[1] which would have allowed Local Authorities (or the Secretary of State) to choose to require that new faith schools had to admit a portion of their intake (up to 25%) from outside the faith. The amendment introduces a new clause into the Education and Inspections Bill after clause 45. However, the amendment was rejected.

The main aims of the Education and Inspections Bill were to[2]:

  • Allow schools to achieve 'foundation' or 'trust' status - this gives governing bodies greater freedom to manage the school.
  • Reaffirm the existing ban on selection by ability and proposes a ban on interviewing.
  • Give local authorities greater scope to intervene more quickly in failing schools.
  • Ensure local authorities provide free school transport for the poorest families.
  • Enable nutritional standards to be applied to all food and drink on school premises.
  • Allow staff to discipline children for bad behaviour even outside of school.
  • Ensure parents are held responsible for excluded pupils.


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

All Votes Cast - sorted by name

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party are marked in red. Also shows which lords were ministers at the time of this vote. You can also see every eligible lord including those who did not vote in this division.

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Acton Labno
Baroness Adams of CraigieleaLabno
Lord Adonis Labno
Lord Alli Labaye
Lord Alton of LiverpoolCrossbenchno
Baroness Amos Labno
Baroness Andrews Labno
Lord Armstrong of IlminsterCrossbenchno
Lord Bach Labno
Lord Baker of DorkingConaye
Lord Barnett Labaye
Lord Bassam of BrightonLabno
Lord Bernstein of CraigweilLabno
Baroness Billingham Labaye
Lord Bilston Labno
Baroness Bottomley of NettlestoneConaye
Lord Boyd of DuncansbyLabno
Lord Brennan Labno
Viscount Bridgeman Conno
Lord Broers Crossbenchno
Lord Brookman Labno
Lord Burlison Labno
Baroness Buscombe Conno
Lord Campbell-Savours Labno
Lord Carter of ColesLabno
Viscount Chandos Labno
Lord Clarke of HampsteadLabno
Baroness Cohen of PimlicoLabaye
Lord Cope of BerkeleyConno
Lord Corbett of Castle ValeLabno
Baroness Corston Labno
Lord Crathorne Conaye
Baroness Crawley Labno
Baroness Cumberlege Conno
Baroness D'Souza Crossbenchno
Lord Davidson of Glen ClovaLabno
Lord Davies of CoityLabno
Lord Davies of OldhamLabtellno
Lord de Mauley Conno
Lord Dearing Otherno
Lord Desai Labaye
Lord Drayson Labno
Lord Dubs Labno
The Earl of DundeeConaye
Lord Elder Labno
Lord Evans of ParksideLabaye
Lord Evans of Temple GuitingLabno
Lord Evans of WatfordLabno
Baroness Farrington of RibbletonLabno
Baroness Flather Contellaye
Baroness Fookes Conno
Baroness Ford Labno
Lord Foster of Bishop AucklandLabno
Lord Fowler Conaye
Lord Fyfe of FairfieldLabno
Baroness Gale Labno
Lord Giddens Labno
Lord Glenarthur Conaye
Lord Goldsmith Labno
Lord Gordon of StrathblaneLabno
Baroness Goudie Labno
Lord Gould of BrookwoodLabno
Baroness Gould of PotternewtonLabaye
Lord Graham of EdmontonLabno
Lord Griffiths of Burry PortLabno
Lord Grocott Labtellno
Lord Harris of HaringeyLabno
Lord Harrison Labaye
Lord Haskel Labno
Lord Haworth Labaye
Baroness Henig Labno
Lord Howarth of NewportLabno
Earl Howe Conno
Baroness Howe of IdlicoteCrossbenchno
Lord Hoyle Labno
Lord Hughes of WoodsideLabno
Lord Hunt of WirralConno
Lord Janner of BraunstoneLabno
Lord Jones Labno
Lord Jones of CheltenhamLDemno
Baroness Jones of WhitchurchLabno
Lord Jopling Conaye
Lord Judd Labno
Lord Laird UUPno
Lord Lee of TraffordLDemaye
Baroness Lockwood Labaye
Lord Macdonald of TradestonLabaye
Lord MacKenzie of CulkeinLabno
The Earl of Mar and KellieLDemno
Lord Marlesford Conaye
Baroness Masham of IltonCrossbenchno
Baroness Massey of DarwenLabaye
Baroness McDonagh Labno
Lord McKenzie of LutonLabno
Baroness Miller of Chilthorne DomerLDemaye
Lord Mitchell Labno
The Duke of MontroseConno
Lord Morgan Labaye
Baroness Morgan of DrefelinLabno
Baroness Morgan of HuytonLabno
Baroness Morris of BoltonConno
Lord Moser Crossbenchaye
Lord Newton of BraintreeConno
Baroness O'Cathain Conno
The Earl of OnslowContellaye
Lord Patel Crossbenchaye
Lord Patten Conno
Lord Pendry Labno
The Bishop of PeterboroughBishopno
Baroness Quin Labno
Lord Radice Labno
Lord Reay Conaye
Lord Renfrew of KaimsthornConaye
Lord Richard Labno
Lord Roberts of LlandudnoLDemno
Lord Rogan UUPno
Lord Rooker Labno
Lord Roper LDemno
Lord Rosser Labno
Lord Rowlands Labno
Baroness Royall of BlaisdonLabno
Lord Sainsbury of TurvilleLabno
The Earl of SelborneConno
Lord Sewel Labno
Baroness Sharp of GuildfordLDemno
Lord Sheldon Labaye
Lord Shutt of GreetlandLDemno
Viscount Simon Labno
Lord Skelmersdale Conno
Lord Skidelsky Crossbenchaye
Lord Soley Labno
Lord Sutherland of HoundwoodCrossbenchno
Lord Taverne LDemaye
Lord Taylor of BlackburnLabno
Baroness Taylor of BoltonLabno
Lord Taylor of HolbeachConno
Lord Teverson LDemno
Baroness Thomas of WalliswoodLDemaye
Lord Tombs Crossbenchaye
Lord Tomlinson Labno
Baroness Tonge LDemaye
Lord Triesman Labno
Lord Truscott Labno
Lord Tunnicliffe Labno
Lord Turnberg Labno
Baroness Turner of CamdenLabaye
Baroness Verma Conno
Lord Wade of ChorltonConaye
Baroness Wall of New BarnetLabno
Baroness Walmsley LDemno
Lord Warner Labno
Baroness Warwick of UndercliffeLabno
Baroness Williams of CrosbyLDemno
Lord Williamson of HortonCrossbenchno
Lord Winston Labno
Lord Young of Norwood GreenLabno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive