Post Office Closures — Commends the Government's action — 19 Mar 2008 at 18:45

The majority of MPs voted in favour of the motion:[1]

  • This House
  • recognises the vital social and economic role of post offices, in particular in rural and deprived urban communities;
  • notes the decline in post office customer numbers in recent years and the financial losses of £174 million incurred by the network in 2007;
  • further recognises the effect of changes such as direct debit facilities and increased use of the internet for payment and communication;
  • commends the Government's action to support the post office network with investment of up to £1.7 billion up until 2011, including an annual subsidy of £150 million;
  • further notes that this subsidy did not exist under the last government and that without it thousands more post offices would be under threat; and
  • urges the Government to continue working with Post Office Limited to ensure a viable and sustainable network for the future.

This followed a previous vote rejecting a motion to suspend the closure programme during consultation.[2]

The debate is bisected by the announcement of a deferred division,[3] making it inconvenient to access on a single page.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con0 169 (+2 tell)089.1%
DUP0 4044.4%
Independent0 3060.0%
Independent Conservative0 10100.0%
Lab290 (+2 tell) 9085.5%
LDem0 58092.1%
PC0 30100.0%
SNP0 4066.7%
Total:290 251086.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabno
David DrewStroudLab (minister)no
Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLab (minister)no
John Martin McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabno
Alan MealeMansfieldLabno
Gordon PrenticePendleLab (minister)no
Alan SimpsonNottingham SouthLabno
Peter SoulsbyLeicester SouthLab (minister)no
David TaylorNorth West LeicestershireLab (minister)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive