Climate Change Bill — Minister to prepare policy — rejected — 31 Mar 2008 at 17:09

A small majority of Lords voted against directing to Secretary of State:[1]

  • To prepare such proposals and policies (including the setting of five year budgets) as he reasonably considers will
  • ensure that the net UK carbon account for the year 2050 is at least 60% lower than the 1990 baseline, and
  • enable the carbon budgets that have been set under this Act to be met.

Without this amendment, the Secretary of State has only a

  • duty to ensure that the net UK carbon account for the year 2050 is at least 60% lower than the 1990 baseline[2]

but does not need to prepare proposals, policies, or set five year budgets.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

Bishop3 011.5%
Con65 (+2 tell) 032.7%
Crossbench20 1418.2%
Independent Labour1 0100.0%
Lab3 113 (+2 tell)53.2%
LDem35 043.8%
UKIP1 1100.0%
Total:128 12836.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Baroness Boothroyd Crossbenchno
Lord Carey of CliftonCrossbenchno
Lord Craig of RadleyCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Elystan-Morgan Crossbenchno
Lord Jay of EwelmeCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Joffe Crossbenchno
Lord Marsh Crossbenchno
Baroness Masham of IltonCrossbench (front bench)no
Baroness Meacher Crossbenchno
Lord Monson Crossbenchno
Baroness Murphy Crossbenchno
Lord Patel Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Stevens of KirkwhelpingtonCrossbenchno
Lord Williamson of HortonCrossbenchno
Baroness Young of HornseyCrossbenchno
Lord Campbell-Savours Lab (minister)aye
Baroness Kennedy of The ShawsLabaye
Lord Puttnam Lab (minister)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive