Intelligence and Security Committee — Should belong to the House — rejected — 17 Jul 2008 at 17:13

The majority of MPs voted against adding an extra clause to the end of the motion for debate:[1]

which read:[2]

  • ... and considers that the secretariat of the Intelligence and Security Committee should be staffed by officials under the authority of the Clerk of the House.

The paragraphs mentioned in the White Paper effectively restate the current situation that the Intelligence and Security Committee (which provides oversight of the secret services), while composed of Members of Parliament, meets outside of the Houses of Parliament and has its reports vetted by the Prime Minister,[3] unlike any other select committee.

The proposal and debate was over bringing it more under the authority of the Parliament.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con0 301.6%
Independent0 1020.0%
Lab204 (+2 tell) 16 (+2 tell)164.3%
LDem0 10015.9%
Respect0 10100.0%
Total:204 31139.2%

Rebel Voters - sorted by vote

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Diane AbbottHackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabaye
Michael ClaphamBarnsley West and PenistoneLabaye
Frank CookStockton NorthLabaye
Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabaye
David DrewStroudLabaye
Frank FieldBirkenheadLabaye
Neil GerrardWalthamstowLabaye
John GroganSelbyLabaye
Dai HavardMerthyr Tydfil and RhymneyLabaye
Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLabtellaye
Lynne JonesBirmingham, Selly OakLabaye
Peter KilfoyleLiverpool, WaltonLabaye
Andrew MacKinlayThurrockLabaye
Chris MullinSunderland SouthLabaye
Gordon PrenticePendleLabaye
Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLabaye
David TaylorNorth West LeicestershireLabtellaye
David WinnickWalsall NorthLabaye
Keith VazLeicester EastLabboth

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive