National Policy Statements — Parliamentary debate following committee report — rejected — 20 May 2009 at 16:10

The majority of MPs voted against inserting provisions into the procedure for appointing a select committee to review a National Policy Statement for a debate and vote on the floor of the House.

The procedure, as proposed and eventually passed, merely arranges for a Select Committee to take evidence and write a report about such a statement.

The amendment, which was rejected, would have inserted the following paragraphs into the rules.[1]

  • If the committee is in favour of the proposed national policy statement, and a motion is made by the Government that effect, then there will be a 90 minute debate on the subject.
  • If the committee recommends against a proposed national policy statement, then it cannot be approved unless the House has voted to disagree with the committee and then holds a three hour debate on the subject.

The rules, which merely require nothing more than for a committee to convene and discuss the proposed National Policy Statement, were passed in the next vote.[2]

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con0 147 (+1 tell)076.7%
DUP0 1011.1%
Independent0 4066.7%
Independent Labour0 10100.0%
Lab261 (+2 tell) 18080.3%
LDem0 45 (+1 tell)073.0%
UUP1 00100.0%
Total:262 216077.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by name

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Colin BurgonElmetLabaye
Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabaye
David DrewStroudLabaye
Mark FisherStoke-on-Trent CentralLabaye
Ian GibsonNorwich NorthLabaye
John GroganSelbyLabaye
Dai HavardMerthyr Tydfil and RhymneyLabaye
Kate HoeyVauxhallLabaye
Lynne JonesBirmingham, Selly OakLabaye
Mark LazarowiczEdinburgh North and LeithLabaye
John Martin McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabaye
Austin MitchellGreat GrimsbyLabaye
Gordon PrenticePendleLabaye
Linda RiordanHalifaxLabaye
Alan SimpsonNottingham SouthLabaye
David TaylorNorth West LeicestershireLabaye
Paul TruswellPudseyLabaye
Mike WoodBatley and SpenLabaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive