Recall of MPs Bill — Clause 1 — Length of Suspension from the House of Commons Which Would Trigger New Election for MP — 24 Nov 2014 at 17:45

The majority of MPs voted to reduce the proposed minimum length of suspension from the House of Commons which would trigger a new election for an MP in that constituency from 21 sitting days (or 28 days) to 10 sitting days (or 14 days).

MPs were considering the Recall of MPs Bill[1]. The motion passed by the majority of MPs in this vote was:

  • Page 1, line 18, leave out subsection (4) and insert—
  • ‘(4) The second recall condition is that, following on from a report from the Committee on Standards, the House of Commons order the suspension of the MP from the service of the House for a specified period of requisite length.
  • (4A) A specified period is of requisite length for the purposes of subsection (4) if—
  • (a) where the period is expressed as a number of sitting days, the period specified is of at least 10 sitting days, or
  • (b) in any other case, the period specified (however expressed) is a period of at least 14 days.”

Prior to the vote subsection 4 of clause 1 stated:

  • (4) The second recall condition is that the House of Commons orders the suspension of the MP from the service of the House for a specified period and—
  • (a) where the period is expressed as a number of sitting days, the period specified is a period of at least 21 sitting days, or
  • (b) in any other case, the period specified (however expressed) is a period of at least 28 days.


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Alliance1 00100.0%
Con46 116 (+2 tell)154.5%
Green1 00100.0%
Independent2 00100.0%
Lab115 (+2 tell) 2046.1%
LDem31 6066.1%
PC2 0066.7%
SDLP1 0033.3%
SNP4 0066.7%
Total:203 124152.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Stuart AndrewPudseyConaye
Jake BerryRossendale and DarwenConaye
Nicola BlackwoodOxford West and AbingdonCon (front bench)aye
Andrew BridgenNorth West LeicestershireCon (front bench)aye
David BurrowesEnfield, SouthgateCon (front bench)aye
Philip DaviesShipleyCon (front bench)aye
Philip DunneLudlowCon (front bench)aye
Jonathan EvansCardiff NorthConaye
Nigel EvansRibble ValleyCon (front bench)aye
Mike FreerFinchley and Golders GreenConaye
Justine GreeningPutneyCon (front bench)aye
Damian HindsEast HampshireCon (front bench)aye
Philip HolloboneKetteringCon (front bench)aye
Robert JenrickNewarkCon (front bench)aye
Andrew JonesHarrogate and KnaresboroughCon (front bench)aye
David JonesClwyd WestConaye
Daniel KawczynskiShrewsbury and AtchamConaye
Simon KirbyBrighton, KemptownConaye
Mark LancasterMilton Keynes NorthCon (front bench)aye
Andrew LansleySouth CambridgeshireConaye
Charlotte LeslieBristol North WestCon (front bench)aye
Karen LumleyRedditchCon (front bench)aye
Jason McCartneyColne ValleyCon (front bench)aye
Karl McCartneyLincolnCon (front bench)aye
Anne MiltonGuildfordCon (front bench)aye
Stephen MosleyCity of ChesterCon (front bench)aye
David MowatWarrington SouthConaye
David MundellDumfriesshire, Clydesdale and TweeddaleCon (front bench)aye
Caroline NokesRomsey and Southampton NorthCon (front bench)aye
Eric OllerenshawLancaster and FleetwoodConaye
Neil ParishTiverton and HonitonCon (front bench)aye
Mark PawseyRugbyCon (front bench)aye
Andrew PercyBrigg and GooleCon (front bench)aye
Stephen PhillipsSleaford and North HykehamCon (front bench)aye
Jacob Rees-MoggNorth East SomersetCon (front bench)aye
Andrew SelousSouth West BedfordshireCon (front bench)aye
Chris SkidmoreKingswoodConaye
Julian SmithSkipton and RiponConaye
Caroline SpelmanMeridenCon (front bench)aye
Mark SpencerSherwoodCon (front bench)aye
Andrew StephensonPendleConaye
John StevensonCarlisleCon (front bench)aye
Iain StewartMilton Keynes SouthCon (front bench)aye
Julian SturdyYork OuterConaye
Theresa VilliersChipping BarnetCon (front bench)aye
Sarah WollastonTotnesCon (front bench)aye
Nick de BoisEnfield NorthCon (front bench)both
John Martin McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLab (minister)no
Meg MunnSheffield, HeeleyLabno
Tom BrakeCarshalton and WallingtonLDem (front bench)no
Lorely BurtSolihullLDem (front bench)no
Nick HarveyNorth DevonLDem (front bench)no
Stephen LloydEastbourneLDemno
Bob RussellColchesterLDem (front bench)no
Roger WilliamsBrecon and RadnorshireLDem (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive