Selection of the UK Delegation to the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe — 16 Nov 2015 at 18:21

The majority of MPs voted to immediately adopt a system of electing the UK delegation to the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe despite concerns elections could not be held in time for upcoming events. The majority of MPs rejected a proposal to make appointments straight away and then holding elections before January 2016.

MPs were debating a motion on how the UK Parliament selects its delegation to the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe. That motion stated:

  • That this House adopts with immediate effect the same system for nomination of its membership of the UK Delegation to the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe as it has for nomination, following party elections, of membership of departmental select committees, and accordingly directs the Speaker not to send the names of its membership of the UK delegation to the President of the Parliamentary Assembly until the nomination of that membership has taken place according to that system.

The amendment rejected in this vote was:

  • leave out from “adopts” to end and add
  • “henceforth a system for nomination of its membership of the UK Delegation to the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe following a General Election reflecting that for nomination of membership of departmental select committees, namely that the House of Commons names be communicated to the Speaker following party elections involving a secret ballot (with each party to seek to reflect in its nominations the same gender representation as in its parliamentary membership, in order to comply with the rules of the Assembly), and for such names to be sent as now by the Speaker to the President of the Assembly; requires that the revised system be implemented in time for the delegation thus nominated to be able to attend the January 2016 part session of the Parliamentary Assembly; and in the interim authorises the Speaker to send now the names of the delegation as set out in the Written Statement of 3 November to the President of the Assembly in order to permit UK participation in the Assembly until then.”

A reason for the rejected proposal to make appointments to the assembly prior to elections was given during the debate by Roger Gale MP[1]:

  • If we do not submit our nomination in time for the Bureau, which will be held in Sofia on 26 November, and the Presidential Committee, which will approve committees on 27 November, none of the work that should take place during December and January will be able to take place


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con170 (+2 tell) 24 (+2 tell)060.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 1050.0%
Lab0 502.2%
LDem1 1025.0%
SDLP0 1033.3%
UKIP0 10100.0%
Total:171 34036.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Adam AfriyieWindsorCon (front bench)aye
Steven BakerWycombeCon (front bench)tellaye
John BaronBasildon and BillericayCon (front bench)aye
Bob BlackmanHarrow EastCon (front bench)aye
Crispin BluntReigateCon (front bench)aye
Peter BoneWellingboroughCon (front bench)tellaye
Graham BradyAltrincham and Sale WestCon (front bench)aye
David BurrowesEnfield, SouthgateCon (front bench)aye
Bill CashStoneCon (front bench)aye
Christopher ChopeChristchurchCon (front bench)aye
Geoffrey Clifton-BrownThe CotswoldsCon (front bench)aye
Philip DaviesShipleyCon (front bench)aye
James GrayNorth WiltshireCon (front bench)aye
Philip HolloboneKetteringCon (front bench)aye
Bernard JenkinHarwich and North EssexCon (front bench)aye
Edward LeighGainsboroughCon (front bench)aye
Julian LewisNew Forest EastCon (front bench)aye
David NuttallBury NorthCon (front bench)aye
Owen PatersonNorth ShropshireConaye
Tom PursgloveCorbyConaye
John RedwoodWokinghamConaye
Jacob Rees-MoggNorth East SomersetCon (front bench)aye
Andrew TurnerIsle of WightCon (front bench)aye
Martin VickersCleethorpesCon (front bench)aye
Sarah WollastonTotnesCon (front bench)aye
William WraggHazel GroveConaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive