Printing Acts of Parliament on Vellum — 20 Apr 2016 at 18:58

The majority of MPs voted to continue to print Acts of Parliament on vellum, a material made of calfskin.

The motion supported by the majority of MPs taking part in this vote was:

  • That this House
  • disagrees with the conclusion of the House of Commons Administration Committee’s First Report of Session 2015-16;
  • welcomes the view expressed by the Minister for the Cabinet Office and Paymaster General that government funds would be available to pay for the continued use of vellum for printing Acts of Parliament;
  • is unwilling to amend or resile from the terms of the Resolutions agreed by both Houses on 12 February 1849; and
  • accordingly instructs the Clerk of the House to convey to the Clerk of the Parliaments that the House of Commons has withheld its consent to the use of archival paper rather than vellum for the printing of record copies of public Acts of Parliament.

A research briefing[1] from the House of Commons Library states:

  • Record copies of public Acts have been printed on vellum, a durable material made of calfskin, since 1849. They were handwritten on parchment rolls (usually made from goatskin) until then.


Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con90 (+2 tell) 0 (+2 tell)028.5%
DUP2 0025.0%
Lab23 24020.4%
LDem1 0012.5%
SDLP0 1033.3%
SNP1 13025.9%
Total:117 38025.1%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Paul BeresfordMole ValleyCon (front bench)tellno
Nigel MillsAmber ValleyCon (front bench)tellno
Rushanara AliBethnal Green and BowLab (minister)aye
Adrian BaileyWest Bromwich WestLab (minister)aye
Roberta Blackman-WoodsCity of DurhamLab (minister)aye
Jim DowdLewisham West and PengeLab (minister)aye
Mary GlindonNorth TynesideLab (minister)aye
Andrew GwynneDenton and ReddishLab (minister)aye
Sharon HodgsonWashington and Sunderland WestLab (minister)aye
Kate HoeyVauxhallLab (minister)aye
Kevan JonesNorth DurhamLabaye
Barbara KeeleyWorsley and Eccles SouthLab (minister)aye
Chris LeslieNottingham EastLabaye
Chris MathesonCity of ChesterLabaye
Conor McGinnSt Helens NorthLab (minister)aye
Toby PerkinsChesterfieldLab (minister)aye
Steve PoundEaling NorthLab (minister)aye
Ruth SmeethStoke-on-Trent NorthLab (minister)aye
Andrew SmithOxford EastLab (minister)aye
John SpellarWarleyLab (minister)aye
Stephen TimmsEast HamLab (minister)aye
Keith VazLeicester EastLab (minister)aye
Valerie VazWalsall SouthLab (minister)aye
Iain WrightHartlepoolLab (minister)aye
Daniel ZeichnerCambridgeLab (minister)aye
Stewart McDonaldGlasgow SouthSNP (front bench)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive