Budget Resolution — Customs Duties — Goods from the European Union — 20 Nov 2017 at 21:03

The majority of MPs voted for goods from the European Union to be subject to new customs duties.

MPs were considering a motion stating:

  • That—
  • (a) provision may be made imposing and regulating a duty of customs chargeable by reference to the importation of goods into the United Kingdom,
  • (b) provision may be made conferring power to impose and regulate a duty of customs chargeable by reference to the export of goods from the United Kingdom,
  • (c) other provision may be made in relation to any duty of customs in connection with the withdrawal of the United Kingdom from the European Union, and
  • (d) provision may be made dealing with subordinate matters incidental to any provision within any of paragraphs (a) to (c).

The amendment rejected in this vote was:

  • in paragraph (a), after “goods”, insert
  • “other than goods originating from the European Union”.

Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con284 (+2 tell) 2091.1%
DUP8 0080.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent1 1050.0%
Lab18 28 (+2 tell)018.5%
LDem0 6050.0%
PC0 40100.0%
SNP0 34097.1%
Total:311 76060.9%

Rebel Voters - sorted by name

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Lord John [Missing last name for 41744]BassetlawLab (minister)no
Paul BlomfieldSheffield CentralLab (minister)no
Nick BrownNewcastle upon Tyne EastLab (minister)no
Alan CampbellTynemouthLab (minister)no
Kenneth ClarkeRushcliffewhilst Con (front bench)aye
John CryerLeyton and WansteadLab (minister)no
Anneliese DoddsOxford EastLab (minister)no
Peter DowdBootleLab (minister)no
Barry GardinerBrent NorthLab (minister)no
John GroganKeighleyLab (minister)no
Mark HendrickPrestonLabno
Kevan JonesNorth DurhamLab (minister)no
Rachael MaskellYork CentralLab (minister)no
John Martin McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLab (minister)no
Alex NorrisNottingham NorthLabno
Fiona OnasanyaPeterboroughwhilst Lab (front bench)no
Jonathan ReynoldsStalybridge and HydeLab (minister)no
Nick SmithBlaenau GwentLab (minister)no
Anna SoubryBroxtowewhilst Conaye
Mark TamiAlyn and DeesideLab (minister)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive