Parliamentary Buildings (Restoration and Renewal) Bill — Clause 2 — The Parliamentary Works Sponsor Body — Corporate Social Responsibility Including Blacklisting — 19 Jun 2019 at 16:00

The majority of MPs voted to require the consideration of prospective contractors' corporate responsibility policies, including those on blacklisting, when allocating contracts.

MPs were considering the Parliamentary Buildings (Restoration and Renewal) Bill[1]

The amendment accepted in this vote was:

  • Amendment proposed: 1, page 2, line 16, at end insert—
  • “(f) to require the Delivery Authority when allocating contracts for construction and related work to have regard for the company’s policies on corporate social responsibility, including those relating to the blacklisting of employees or potential employees from employment.”

the amendment added an additional subclause to clause 2(2) of the Bill, setting out an additional duty for the Parliamentary Works Sponsor Body.

The amendment unusually resulted in two sections denoted (f).

Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con13 129 (+2 tell)146.3%
DUP1 2030.0%
Green1 00100.0%
Independent6 0030.0%
Lab151 (+2 tell) 0061.9%
LDem5 0041.7%
PC4 00100.0%
SNP29 0082.9%
Total:210 131153.9%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Richard BaconSouth NorfolkCon (front bench)aye
Crispin BluntReigateConaye
Fiona BruceCongletonCon (front bench)aye
Robert BucklandSouth SwindonCon (front bench)aye
David DavisHaltemprice and HowdenConaye
John HayesSouth Holland and The DeepingsConaye
Simon HoareNorth DorsetCon (front bench)aye
Philip HolloboneKetteringCon (front bench)aye
Jeremy LefroyStaffordCon (front bench)aye
Anne Marie MorrisNewton AbbotCon (front bench)aye
Mary RobinsonCheadleCon (front bench)aye
Robin WalkerWorcesterCon (front bench)aye
William WraggHazel GroveCon (front bench)aye
Andrew PercyBrigg and GooleConboth
Jeffrey M. DonaldsonLagan ValleyDUP (front bench)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive