European Union (Withdrawal Agreement) Bill (Programme) — Completion of Consideration Within Three Sitting Days — 22 Oct 2019 at 18:48

The majority of MPs rejected a proposal to complete their consideration of the European Union (Withdrawal Agreement) Bill within three sitting days.

The European Union (Withdrawal Agreement) Bill set out proposed arrangements for the United Kingdom’s withdrawal from the European Union, including a default position of retaining European Union law during, and beyond, an implementation period ending on 31 December 2020.[1]

The motion rejected in this vote included the following key operative elements:

  • (2) Proceedings in Committee of the whole House shall be completed in two days.


  • (5) Any proceedings on Consideration, any proceedings in legislative grand committee and proceedings on Third Reading shall be taken in one day in accordance with the following provisions of this Order.

The full rejected programme motion can be found in the official record.[2]

Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con0 285 (+2 tell)099.7%
DUP10 00100.0%
Green1 00100.0%
Independent22 18095.2%
Lab235 (+2 tell) 5098.0%
LDem15 00100.0%
PC4 00100.0%
SNP35 00100.0%
Total:322 308098.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by constituency

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Lord John [Missing last name for 41744]BassetlawLab (minister)aye
Caroline FlintDon ValleyLab (minister)aye
Jim FitzpatrickPoplar and LimehouseLabaye
Kevin BarronRother ValleyLab (minister)aye
Kate HoeyVauxhallLab (minister)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive