Safety of Rwanda (Asylum and Immigration) Bill — 17 Jan 2024 at 21:14

“Under the terms of the agreement, Rwanda has no obligation to return any of the funds paid…if no migrants come to Rwanda under the scheme, and the UK government wishes to request a refund of the portion of the funding allocated to support…we will consider this request.
“I am unable to make a statement that, in my view, the provisions of the Safety of Rwanda (Asylum and Immigration) Bill are compatible with the Convention rights, but the Government nevertheless wishes the House to proceed with the Bill.”
“We will continue to grant asylum and support to refugees fleeing persecution, with the ultimate aim of helping them to return home if it is safe to do so.”
“It maintains its position that the arrangement, as now articulated and the UK-Rwanda Partnership Treaty and accompanying legislative scheme, does not meet the required standards relating to the legality and appropriateness of the transfer of asylum seekers and is not compatible with international refugee law.”
“Man’s inhumanity to man
Makes countless thousands mourn!”
“When a Bill has been rejected, or lost through disagreement, it should not, according to the practice of Parliament, be reintroduced in the same Session.”
“Millions of people in the world want to make that journey”-[Official Report, 16 January 2024; Vol. 743, c. 713.]
“The law is our servant, not our master.”-[Official Report, 16 January 2024; Vol. 743, c. 717.]
“we are not a parish council.”-[Official Report, 16 January 2024; Vol. 743, c. 717.]

Debate in Parliament |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Alba0 1050.0%
Alliance0 10100.0%
Con317 (+2 tell) 11094.0%
DUP0 3037.5%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent2 8071.4%
Lab0 192 (+2 tell)098.0%
LDem0 150100.0%
PC0 30100.0%
Reclaim1 00100.0%
SDLP0 20100.0%
SNP0 42097.7%
Total:320 279094.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by constituency

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

David JonesClwyd WestCon (front bench)no
Sarah DinesDerbyshire DalesCon (front bench)no
Danny KrugerDevizesCon (front bench)no
Suella BravermanFarehamConno
Simon ClarkeMiddlesbrough South and East ClevelandConno
Andrea JenkynsMorley and OutwoodCon (front bench)no
Robert JenrickNewarkConno
Miriam CatesPenistone and StocksbridgeCon (front bench)no
Mark FrancoisRayleigh and WickfordCon (front bench)no
James DuddridgeRochford and Southend EastConno
Bill CashStoneCon (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive